We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain forest hideaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rye Brook, New York, United States
1 review
“Rain forest hideaway”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Volcano Guest House which was so close to Volcano National Park and convenient enough to visit the park at night. We have visited the park many times but always had to rush back to our hotel and missed the night glow of the volcano. At the guest house, there were many unique features I especially liked. The lanai was an excellent private retreat away from the family for writing as I heard the pitter-patter of the afternoon rain. I wish I had more time there. The guest room had an excellent view of multi-color tree ferns which numerously backed the property. Our make-your-own breakfast was exceptional and we were the only ones there so it was like being in our own miraculously well stocked kitchen. I am glad an authentic place like this is available for visitors to rest in. They should be prepare everyone to remember that they are staying in a real rain forest with its humidity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB_guest29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    58
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
65
62
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We met up with friends from the mainland to stay in Twin I and Twin II. The shared lanai between these two units made it the perfect arrangement. We each had our own space, but met up on the lanai for breakfast in the morning and to reflect upon the day's activities, over a glass of wine in the evening. The cottage was clean and very tastefully and attentively appointed. We found everything we needed and were very comfortable. Since it can often be moist and cool in the rain forest, the heated mattress pad was truly a treat! It was rainy and damp when we arrived so the dehumidifier made the place cozy. My husband was in charge of planning, so I didn't realize that breakfast was included. What a nice surprise... lots of fresh fruit like: bananas, papaya, lilikoi, local baked goods, hard-boiled eggs, freshly brewed coffee, juices... to name a few. Reminded me of boutique hotel faire in Europe. The 'secret garden' between our cottages and the lanai were magical - wabi-sabi, not manicured. Created over time with lots of love. We like that we were left alone, but the owners were always around and made themselves available to answer the many questions we had about the rainwater collection system, the animals they raised, and the what's what of tropical plants. The hot tub was another luxury to indulge in at the end of a long day exploring the island. We spent half of our stay in Volcano for easy access to many places that were on our to list, for that side of the island. If you're into 'alternative to mainstream' travel accommodations and you want to experience a bit of local culture, this place is a great find. The sustainable practices like hanging towels and wet clothes out to dry or saving food scraps for the ducks, though optional, made us feel right at home! The owners were both born in Hawaii (not on Hawaii); they were kind and super intelligent/interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWB-DJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I totally agree with a review here that said that "you don't feel like a guest, for better and for worse". For better, because they leave you alone, no chit chat or socializing, which I like. For worse, because the place feels a little abandoned. When we left, there was noone around, so we just..left. The place is hidden in a lush rainforest, amazing, about 7 minutes to Volcano village, which is tiny. If you arrive at the Volcano Guest House in the evening, bring your own food, or you'll have to drive back to the village for dinner, and the options are very few. The house we stayed in was cosy, it reminded me of B&B in the U.K, with that rundown air, but the bed was comfortable, and as it was a bit humid and chilly , we turned on the radiator and we were really cosy at night. The breakfast lanai is nice, but the food was just cereal from the supermarket, orange juice or milk, and some bagles, the jam jar was empty, and there wasn't much choice. A bowl of boiled eggs which reappeared every day... On our last day the coffee was awful, we thought it might be from the previous day. So, to sum up, a nice hideout in the rainforest, you see the giant ferns on your window, very quiet and silent, but for the price you pay, you deserve a better, bigger breakfast, more in line with the "eco.natural" life style they try to foster.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariana60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Three generations of our family had the pleasure of staying in the Akala house this summer. We found it charming, private, quiet, and comfortable. Volcano Guest House is in a great location - just far enough from town to maintain that country feel, yet only a 5-minute drive to the several Volcano dining options. The owners were helpful and friendly. The house was clean and cozy, with great details - skylights allowing in natural light, and porthole windows to enjoy the lush landscaping. There were lots of extra blankets and pillows, and helpful extras like a baby gate for the stairs. Shampoo soap, paper towels, etc. were also provided, which helped us to feel at home. My kids loved the hot cocoa and popcorn provided in the kitchen, and we all enjoyed breakfasts on the lanai.
Being "locals" from the hot,dry west side of Hawaii Island, it was such a treat to be able to relax and enjoy the cool weather, rainforest feel, and of course Volcano National Park. We also appreciated the Kamaaina discount that allowed us to make the most of our "stay-cation". Free Wi-Fi, and the most delicious tap water on the island!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family stayed in the Olapa guest house (5 of us, so we had the whole cottage) and had a lovely time. Breakfast was nice, as was the dedicated lanai setting in which it was served; the grounds on which the cottages reside are lush and picturesque. Proximity to both Volcanoes Park and Hilo make it a great place to stay. Would definitely stay there again if visiting that part of the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The cottage we stayed in was adjacent to the lanai. It was comfortable and efficient. We used the fridge for leftovers and the stove for tea. The lanai was the best part of the place. The continental breakfast of fresh papaya and macadamia nut bread with jam was a such a treat. The cottage was a bit mildew and cold at times. There was a dehumidifier and space heaters to help though. The place was very convenient to the Volcano park and to Hilo. We saw all the volcanoes, hiked the lava field to watch live lava at night and swam in the bay at Hilo. All in all it was an great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillaryheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family stayed at the guest house while visiting Volcano. We were trying to be "eco-tourists" and the Volcano Guest House is a model in being environmentally responsible. It was very convenient to the park entrance, breakfast was wonderful (a locally made coffee cake, fresh fruit, English muffins, bagels, jam, cereal, hard boiled eggs, freshly brewed coffee, tea, juice...) and having our own kitchen to bring take-out home to for a casual late supper was helpful, too. Just be sure to have the directions with you when you first check in - it is well hidden down narrow lanes!

Room Tip: Call and talk with the owners - they will describe the varied options and help you select what match...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
846 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
836 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Property: Volcano Guest House
Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing