We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent place to stay. We were with 2 adults and 2 kids. Had lots of space. The kids loved all the animals and the hot tub. The owners were so helpful letting us do washing and just being really relaxed about everything being available. The breakfast was awesome. Love all the recycling and solar etc. So close to Volcano National Park. would love to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 182 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love the breakfast lanai. I love that there are no rules just suggestions like you can use the hot tub anytime just be considerate to guests nearby.
I like that they are environmentally conscious- solar water heater, recycling, compost etc.
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swtnsvvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family (six of us) rented the entire house. We wanted a three bedroom house. It was very spacious and the bedrooms each had their own bath. Lovely setting and very quiet. Kitchen had all the basics. We could cook breakfast before we left each day. We chose this house because of proximity to Volcano National Park and the Hilo coast. It is minutes to get into the park which is wonderful. We did a day trip up the Hilo coast all the way to the end of the road and we still back to house by 8:30 pm. Great location. The innkeepers are wonderful. I had numerous questions which were all answered via email prior to us getting there which definitely helped our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As a family with one 8 year old child, we enjoyed the relaxed, welcoming feel of the place. The collection of garage sale furniture and décor was comfortable and I did not feel like I had to worry that my son would break anything terribly valuable.

Everything seemed to be clean, neat and tidy. Having a kitchenette was great since most of the eating establishments in Volcano are closed on Monday nights (our first night in the area).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethY250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On my next trip to Hawaii, I will definitely look forward to spending more time at this collection of rustic cabins right in the middle of the Hawaiian mountain rain forest. My wife and I stayed in the commodious and homey Twin 1 for two nights and had an enjoyable stay.

The nights were cool and damp (remember that this is the mountain rain forest) but the beds were cozy with electric mattress pads. It is so close to the national park that we were able to stay late at the park for the night viewing of glowing lava at night Halema`uma`u crater & still be back at our cabin in minutes.

The breakfasts are self-serve, low-key, and tasty and include local tropical fruit, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, cereal, etc.

Alan was friendly, helpful, and hospitable, and so was his dog, Hina. We also enjoyed seeing the cows & ducks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying in the cottage for three nights in early May. Everything we could want, and many things we didn't know we wanted, was there for us. The house is lovely. Like a fairy-tale cottage in the jungle. You would never know it was off-grid. Love the heated beds! The breakfast lanai is open whenever we wanted something to eat. We could come and go at our leisure - no set time we had to eat.
It's a beautiful, quiet location. Very convenience to the park and handy to be able to get to the crater at night. The innkeepers definitely know what they're doing. We had a lovely time and would absolutely come back again. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage - the former home of the innkeepers. Very convenient to the driveway and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in Alepo 1, very comfortable beds, en suite bathroom, shared sitting and fully equipped kitchen. The breakfast on the lanai offered cereals, fresh fruit, eggs,bread and bagels with spreads. Tea and coffee was available all day in this area, in addition to that in the rooms. The situation was perfect for all the attractions in the Volcano National Park and its location in the rain forest was an ideal setting. We would certainly recommend to anyone visiting the area, the only disadvantage was that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: Alepo 3 was larger. No swimming pool or fitness centre, but I could not delete them from list !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 32 in Volcano
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Volcano Teapot Cottage
Volcano Teapot Cottage
#2 of 22 in Volcano
336 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $115 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing