We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Rain Forest Refuge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On my next trip to Hawaii, I will definitely look forward to spending more time at this collection of rustic cabins right in the middle of the Hawaiian mountain rain forest. My wife and I stayed in the commodious and homey Twin 1 for two nights and had an enjoyable stay.

The nights were cool and damp (remember that this is the mountain rain forest) but the beds were cozy with electric mattress pads. It is so close to the national park that we were able to stay late at the park for the night viewing of glowing lava at night Halema`uma`u crater & still be back at our cabin in minutes.

The breakfasts are self-serve, low-key, and tasty and include local tropical fruit, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, cereal, etc.

Alan was friendly, helpful, and hospitable, and so was his dog, Hina. We also enjoyed seeing the cows & ducks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Volcano Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 182 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying in the cottage for three nights in early May. Everything we could want, and many things we didn't know we wanted, was there for us. The house is lovely. Like a fairy-tale cottage in the jungle. You would never know it was off-grid. Love the heated beds! The breakfast lanai is open whenever we wanted something to eat. We could come and go at our leisure - no set time we had to eat.
It's a beautiful, quiet location. Very convenience to the park and handy to be able to get to the crater at night. The innkeepers definitely know what they're doing. We had a lovely time and would absolutely come back again. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage - the former home of the innkeepers. Very convenient to the driveway and th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in Alepo 1, very comfortable beds, en suite bathroom, shared sitting and fully equipped kitchen. The breakfast on the lanai offered cereals, fresh fruit, eggs,bread and bagels with spreads. Tea and coffee was available all day in this area, in addition to that in the rooms. The situation was perfect for all the attractions in the Volcano National Park and its location in the rain forest was an ideal setting. We would certainly recommend to anyone visiting the area, the only disadvantage was that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: Alepo 3 was larger. No swimming pool or fitness centre, but I could not delete them from list !!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We rented the cottage for two nights and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation. The bed in particular was very comfortable. Sadly, there was just so much to do in the area, that we tended to leave the cottage early in the morning and came back late at night so we didn't really benefit from such a nice place.

We really liked the self service breakfasts. There was plenty to choose from and it meant we could get out early.

Also, of great benefit to us, was the self serve laundry. Which was free to use.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Volcano Guest house was wonderful. Our suite (Claudia's Place) was very quiet and comfy. It had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! We had a bedroom, bath, and an adjoining kitchen/sitting room. Lots of room for 2. The best was the breakfast lanai, where we could help ourselves to fruit, cereal, coffee, etc. This was available all day, so we could also have coffee after our volcano hike. They lent us beach towels after we checked out as we wanted to snorkel that day. Great value, very handy to the park, nice places to eat and interesting galleries. They even had flashlights for us (night volcano viewing). I would not rely on the stores in Volcano if you want to buy dinner fixings. Not much there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were two couples visiting Volcano and we stayed in the "Twin" rooms. It was great as we had two rooms facing each other with a lovely lanai in the middle with a table and four chairs so that we could sit out with a glass of wine, which we did both nights, even though it was a bit chilly! The rooms have everything you could possibly need, even an electric blanket as the nights can be quite cold. Breakfast was a delight and there was a great variety of food, including fresh papaya, which was wonderful! You could also go and sit in the breakfast room during the day where tea and coffee were always available, most welcome after a busy day out. The volcano itself was amazing to see and a visit at night is a must. We would highly recommend staying here to friends and family and would certainly stay here again if we visit Volcano.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha050450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the volcano area . Such a great place. We stayed in Olapa 2 with a king bed and private bathroom. We had a view of the rainforest. It was great. We had the use of the entire home and it was furnished with everything we needed for our stay and then some. It was a bit chillier than we expected and they even had extra warm coats we could borrow. There is a cute , short path from Olapa to the main house/breakfast area. We were able to make our own breakfast from their supplies. We had bananas, papaya, engllish muffins with peanut butter, boiled eggs, cereal, gooey rolls, juices, coffee, tea, etc.. They composted our banana skins and such and are energy conscious as well. There is a hot tub next to the breakfast area that is great after a cool day at the park. A lovely couple runs the place with a cute dog who welcomed us. We had umbrellas and flashlights for our use. The house we stayed in also had a kitchen and living/dining room which we lounged in nightly. We would stay there again without hesitation. Thanks to the owners for making our stay so comfortable !

Room Tip: I only saw the rooms in the Olapa house and I would stay in all 3. They are all great with views of...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieBBNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#9 of 32 in Volcano
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $115 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing