We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the volcano area . Such a great place. We stayed in Olapa 2 with a king bed and private bathroom. We had a view of the rainforest. It was great. We had the use of the entire home and it was furnished with everything we needed for our stay and then some. It was a bit chillier than we expected and they even had extra warm coats we could borrow. There is a cute , short path from Olapa to the main house/breakfast area. We were able to make our own breakfast from their supplies. We had bananas, papaya, engllish muffins with peanut butter, boiled eggs, cereal, gooey rolls, juices, coffee, tea, etc.. They composted our banana skins and such and are energy conscious as well. There is a hot tub next to the breakfast area that is great after a cool day at the park. A lovely couple runs the place with a cute dog who welcomed us. We had umbrellas and flashlights for our use. The house we stayed in also had a kitchen and living/dining room which we lounged in nightly. We would stay there again without hesitation. Thanks to the owners for making our stay so comfortable !

Room Tip: I only saw the rooms in the Olapa house and I would stay in all 3. They are all great with views of...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieBBNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Volcano Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 182 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Volcano Guest House was the perfect place for our family. So close to the Park and town. The room was extremely clean. We also stayed nice and warm.

Bonnie suggested we go back that night to see the Volcano. So glad we did. Absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: No pool but a hot tub.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent two nights in the "Guest Cottage" while exploring the Volcanoes National Park. It was a place and a great value for our purposes. We had a not-so-small very cozy two-story cottage that was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen had everything you would need to cook a meal, although we never did. There are two singles and a queen bed, all of which have electric blankets, which we needed both nights. The hosts, Allen and his wife, are very hospitable and helpful. They will loan you flashlights, ponchos, movies, reading material and guide books. The "Breakfast Lanai" was well stocked each morning with coffee, fruit, cereal, pastries and juice. It's a great place to exchange info with and get to know other guests. My only regret is we did not get to spend more time in the cottage. We shall definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We needed a reasonably priced place to stay in Volcano, HI for two nights. Great location in Volcano. Cozy interior with enough amenities for a couple days. Not sure cooking was feasible in our cabin, but took Bonnie's recommendation for Thai food twice for dinner. Breakfast was adequate, nothing fancy, but plenty of options.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank travelgeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great place to stay tucked away in the rainforest, short drive to town and the national park. Simple, neat, self contained units with kitchens are very convenient for the independent traveler & good value. Tasty breakfast of local fruit, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, etc. Hosts are very environmentally conscious which was a pleasant surprise in the lodging business.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HealdsburgOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Pleasant accomodation in the woods. Dress warm for cool evenings in winter. Bed and bath were comfortable, breakfast was pleasant and plentiful. Hosts were very informative . The unit we stayed in would be great for two to three couples.

Room Tip: Great for a younger group or couple.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was a great place to stay, the buildings were a bit rustic and worn down, but what would one expect from staying in a rain forest? The location was superb, about a mile from the park entrance. Lush vegetation, ferns twice my height. Flowers everywhere, rain, and the surreal feeling of being in a rain forest. We absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiiDamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#9 of 32 in Volcano
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: $115 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing