We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wished for more time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
“wished for more time”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A wonderful place. The hosts were kind and knowledgeable, letting our kids feed the ducks and look at the cows. We would have liked to spend some more time there, instead of the quick sleep and run we had time for. The hot tub took a bit of figuring out, and we never did get one set of jets working. Dunno if they were broken or just didn't use the controls right (no labels, just buttons, with multiple functions.). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    58
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
66
62
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. James, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this nice place because we were visiting the Volcano National Park. We were so please with the owners hospitality. We didn't realize that it would be a little bit chilly in the rain forest at night and we came unprepared for it. The owner offered us jackets to borrow without us even asking. That was so nice because it was pretty cold for a September evening. We went out to eat at a restaurant that was on the list that the owners recommend. They had everything you needed and more in the cottages, even a flash light so we could go to the hot tub. The beds were very comfortable and even though I usually don't sleep well in strange places, I slept very sound. The nice heated mattress cover helped a lot! In morning they had a very nice breakfast with fruit, bagels, much, much more. After breakfast I wondered though the beautiful garden of exotic flowers that was amazing! Breathtaking! So well kept!
I highly recommend these cottages to anyone, it's not the Hilton, but I would rather stay there then any 5 star resort any day!

Room Tip: Ooops! I marked swimming pool but I don't think they have one. But the hot tub was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyBeach50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The B&B was true to its website and was recommended by a friend as being beautiful and peaceful. Our hostess gave us a couple of suggestions for dining that were very helpful. We had Olapi House to ourselves for 3/4 days and found it clean and quiet. It took us a couple of days to understand that we had to replace wet towels ourselves (nothing dries in the rain forest!) I would have enjoyed a little more variety in breakfast, but it was plenty. We liked the awareness of recycling to help keep the island beautiful. All in all, a great place to return to after visiting volcano NP.

Room Tip: There are several rooms that have a private bath that are clearly indicated on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed there for just one night with another couple. Thought the one bedroom (we stayed at the Twin II cottage) separated by a curtain instead of wall, was kind of odd. Liked the fact that we could warm up the bed (needed that too, being from Lahaina :-)
Breakfast was sufficient for us. The place was fine for our needs (being close to volcano area and able to accommodate 4 people) and affordable (appreciate their kama'aina rate :-)
Not sure how to rate the service aspect since check in was, as their breakfast, "self serve".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I loved this charming place. The website is accurate in its description, except that it does not show just how beautiful the property is! The propery has gorgeous flowers and is tranquill and nice. We rented one of the bungalows which was huge for our family. Our four year old loved the space to play, and we loved having a place to put him down and still talk with our family. The owners are very nice and gave us tips on a local famer's market, as well as viewing the volcano. We stayed on the Kona side of the island for the remainder of our vacation, and wished we had stayed here the entire time! It is convenient to tour the whole island from this retreat, and you cannot beat it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Richele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The B&B is everything it says it was on their web site! We stayed three nights and loved it. Wonderfully quiet, private, comfortable, and clean, with a convenient location. It was a perfect place to come back to each day from our adventures and enjoy a relaxing soak in the hot tub. The owners are friendly and helpful. Would stay there again without reservation!

Room Tip: The unit called "The Cottage" was great for a couple or a family if privacy was not a conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StryderCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very friendly and accommodating hosts. The facilities are maintained well and are in a very charming rain forest setting. Nice and out of the way so it is quiet and relaxing. Very nice self-serve breakfast in the morning. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
895 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Property: Volcano Guest House
Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing