We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!”

Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: between Wright and Haunani
Description: Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant, located in the quiet village of Volcano, sits on 5 acres of gardens and gazebos and native forest. This hotel restaurant features a large fireplace, local art, koa tables, and is open nightly. Chef/owner Albert Jeyte blends flavors from his European background with farm, ranch and seafood products from Hawaii, the surrounding Pacific and elsewhere. Volcano Village is at 3700 feet elevation and evenings are often cool and misty. The historic fireplace welcomes guests with it's cheery fire. Home made soups and breads tease the appetite. Albert specializes in unusual game...venison, antelope, rabbit, duck. The biggest sellers are local fish dishes; ahi, ono, mahimahi and the exotic Tristan lobster. A large wine list complements the eclectic menu.
Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Title says it all, Simply Amazing. We went for a late reservation. They were so friendly and very accommodating. The food was incredible, but the drinks were even better. The blended lilikoi margarita with li hing mui rim is a must! The staff is full of Aloha! Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Localgirl8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    352
    153
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food, service, and ambiance”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Interesting older building repurposed - fireplace, good lighting, good vibes. The house margaritas are fruity with a salty sweet orange rim. My husband had the tomato creamed rice soup which he declared as the best soup ever. He had meatloaf for his entre which may sound strange for an upscale place but is very popular by the numbers of people enjoying it. My salad and steak were very tasty. The veggie sides were good too. We do not ordinarily have dessert but when the dessert tray was presented we could not resist. Grand marnieur pudding (egg custard) with a dollop of fruit puree for me and banana cheese cake for him. We had a great time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheHudsonValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We ate breakfast here one morning, after trying another restaurant and being ignored. Glad we did. Although we were not guests of the lodge, we were given a friendly welcome and good service. The food was tasty, especially the breakfast potatoes. My husband enjoyed their coffee. Good for a nice breakfast before hitting the national park.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pawsonadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“idyllic lunch spot while at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a lovely discovery after driving the southern route from Waikoloa, there wasn't much in the way if restaurants. The selection includes plenty of fish and fresh veg/salad options. The décor was simple but upscale and not "touristy" though we were in good company with an almost full house by 1pm. Fortify yourself here before returning for some more fabulous VNP hiking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Headygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have eaten at Kilauea Lodge several times, but always at lunch. With guests who were new to the island in tow, we decided to have dinner before a late night viewing of the volcano. Kilauea Lodge was my first choice. We did go online to set up a reservation. I am happy we did. We arrived and were seated immediately by a window onto the garden. Drinks served as well as appetizer while waited for dinner. The restaurant quickly filled up right after we sat down. Service was very good despite how crowded it was. I had Ahi, while two others had grilled duck. I can't remember what the fourth member of our group had. I tasted the duck. It was outstanding as was my Ahi. The ambiance is old Hawaii as is the aloha. Try it, but do make reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wahinetraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing