We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING Food and Amazing Service”

Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: between Wright and Haunani
Description: Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant, located in the quiet village of Volcano, sits on 5 acres of gardens and gazebos and native forest. This hotel restaurant features a large fireplace, local art, koa tables, and is open nightly. Chef/owner Albert Jeyte blends flavors from his European background with farm, ranch and seafood products from Hawaii, the surrounding Pacific and elsewhere. Volcano Village is at 3700 feet elevation and evenings are often cool and misty. The historic fireplace welcomes guests with it's cheery fire. Home made soups and breads tease the appetite. Albert specializes in unusual game...venison, antelope, rabbit, duck. The biggest sellers are local fish dishes; ahi, ono, mahimahi and the exotic Tristan lobster. A large wine list complements the eclectic menu.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Food and Amazing Service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

High priced gourmet food, but SO worth it! Best and most memorable meal I have ever in my life. EVER! :D

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    352
    153
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A gem .”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This historic lodge feels like the 1930 beauty that it is. It fits the National Park Lodge image we've seen in Yellowstone. The food and service was EXCELLENT. If you don't make it early in the evening reservations are recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bend, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good restaurant next to Volcano Park”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent food, with some exotic choices that were unexpected for the location. They had antelope from Texas on the menu that was very good. The prices are higher but the food was worth it. Make sure to try the Lillikoi Margarita rimmed with lihing mui, it is their special drink and was excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice dining experience, the decor was beautiful also with a lot of beautiful artwork.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to the Volcano area around 3 pm. Our Cottage director recommended a few restaurants. We liked the menu of Kilauear Lodge. The Coconut crusted brie caught our attention. We arrived a few minutes before they opened at 5 PM. We were seated within 10 minutes, and then sat back and relaxed in the open lodge with fireplace area. Nice ambiance. Carol, our waitress was fantastic, nice personality, quite informative about the place (she has been there 25 years!). We ordered the Brie, Antelope, and Chicken with salads and a Resling. Then topped off with a "dessert to die for" the Grand Marnier custard. Wow! Anyway, the Meal plus wine cost us $100. We feel we received great value.

Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had dinner here while visiting the VNP and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was creative and very well done. The service was superb. Others have said the food was too expensive. We did not find that to be so. It is a fine restaurant and priced as such, but not excessive for the quality. The wine list is better than expected for the location and reasonably priced. The suggested pairings were spot-on. Ellen was our server and she was a delight; very knowledgeable about the food and the wines; attentive without being overbearing. We both had the Hunter's Soup which was a very nice and different with a rabbit base, broth consistency and lots of herbs. My husband had the antelope and I had the duck a l'orange; both were wonderful and perfectly cooked and seasoned. We would definitely return!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacqueet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing