We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant

Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $43
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: between Wright and Haunani
Description: Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant, located in the quiet village of Volcano, sits on 5 acres of gardens and gazebos and native forest. This hotel restaurant features a large fireplace, local art, koa tables, and is open nightly. Chef/owner Albert Jeyte blends flavors from his European background with farm, ranch and seafood products from Hawaii, the surrounding Pacific and elsewhere. Volcano Village is at 3700 feet elevation and evenings are often cool and misty. The historic fireplace welcomes guests with it's cheery fire. Home made soups and breads tease the appetite. Albert specializes in unusual game...venison, antelope, rabbit, duck. The biggest sellers are local fish dishes; ahi, ono, mahimahi and the exotic Tristan lobster. A large wine list complements the eclectic menu.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wasn't expecting a lot from this restaurant but was surprisingly pleased. 3 of us arrived with no reservation on a busy night but were fitted in. Food was great as was wine ad service. What a find.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    332
    148
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food and good place out of the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed lunch on a rainy day visiting the Volcano N.P. Although we had to wait for seating (didn't make reservations), the sandwiches were good, and the ambiance was pleasant. Service was a little slow (we were not in a hurry). The dining room is not large, so when they're busy, things get crowded and a little slower. (It probably used to be the lobby, since its at the top of the steps of the porte cochere; and also sports a toasty fireplace.)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bums Rush!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stopped by for lunch and the staff person at the front made no bones about being soooooo busy! He stated we would have to wait. I confirmed we would wait and then asked if he would like to take our name. We definetly got the feeling that we were bothering them when they were already soooooo busy. We did wait a short 15minutes then were seated at a small table for two right in the pathway of all the servers and new guests. My husband was bumped at least 4 times while trying to eat his lunch. The staff were scurrying about looking over worked and rushed. That made the atmosphere very unpleasant along with the loud noise of all the guests talking in the restaurant. Our meal was served quickly but the service was not exceptional. No one stopped by to ask us for anything else or if our meal was satisfactory.
I understand a busy rush in a restaurant but the servers need to learn to be efficient without looking rushed as it makes guests feel like they are a bother being there.
The food was very good, the homemade soup delicious and the sandwich was tastey. They should spring for real french fries not frozen ones. The prices are ok but lets admit $3.00 for a $0.10 glass of ice tea is really gauging.
The restrooms were unsatisfactory, both ladies and mens smelled bad........not good for a classy restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeCanada609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent food, knowledgeable friendly staff and probably some of the best service I have ever had anywhere. The restaurant is very quaint, relaxing and inviting.We joined them for dinner after viewing the Kilauea Volcano glowing at dark. A cold and rainy night it was! A nice fire was burning in the fireplace and the restaurant was still decorated for christmas which added even more charm to the dining experience. Hanging from the the ceiling were umbrellas that the staff had decorated for a friendly competition.(quite a talented staff!) A VERY pleasurable experience that greatly added to our memories of a wonderful vacation on the Big Island of Hawaii!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snake59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Dinner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We found this restaurant to be excellent! Loved the menu, the service was impressive and the wine pairings were right on. Perfect for a romantic date or a nice family dinner. My husband loved all the vegetables that came with the meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing