We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, historic location serving up delicious breakfast”

Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: between Wright and Haunani
Description: Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant, located in the quiet village of Volcano, sits on 5 acres of gardens and gazebos and native forest. This hotel restaurant features a large fireplace, local art, koa tables, and is open nightly. Chef/owner Albert Jeyte blends flavors from his European background with farm, ranch and seafood products from Hawaii, the surrounding Pacific and elsewhere. Volcano Village is at 3700 feet elevation and evenings are often cool and misty. The historic fireplace welcomes guests with it's cheery fire. Home made soups and breads tease the appetite. Albert specializes in unusual game...venison, antelope, rabbit, duck. The biggest sellers are local fish dishes; ahi, ono, mahimahi and the exotic Tristan lobster. A large wine list complements the eclectic menu.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful, historic location serving up delicious breakfast”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I visited Volcano, HI at the start of our honeymoon, and we were tickled to find the Kilauea Lodge on our first morning. We had managed some breakfast provisions, but we had forgotten the coffee, so off we went!

We stumbled across the Kilauea Lodge, and we were so glad that we did. The ambiance is charming and rustic with lots of history if you take time to sit in front of the fireplace. We decided to split breakfast and treat ourselves to half a papaya in addition to our much needed coffee. Prices were incredibly reasonable, the service was fast and friendly, and our food was delicious.

If you are staying in Volcano, I highly recommend the "restaurant" portion of Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    352
    153
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

There aren't many options close to Volcano National Park and we had already had lunch at the Lava Rock Cafe so we decided to have dinner here. The dining room is pretty and very rustic. The service is pleasant but slow. We received three of our meals at once and the fourth meal 20 minutes later. The menu is quirky, with many interesting choices on the regular menu but pretty limited options for kids (maybe add a burger to the menu?) It's worth it to check out the menu online before you go. The meals are pricey. Our kids split an adult meal (the kids menu has three items) and were charged a splitting fee of $7.50.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like something out of Twin Peaks”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was a terrible restaurant. I don't understand how it could be so terrible because it has such a good reputation, but my husband and I had a hysterically bad meal here in the most literal sense that we were laughing hysterically by the end of it because it was just so bad.

Firstly the service was awful. We had a reservation, and we turned up exactly on time for it. The greeter told us there would be a 10 minute wait for the table, so we stood there and waited for 10 minutes before being led to a table that had been standing empty (fully set) for all that time. Bit weird, but ok.

Secondly, the food was awful. My 'creamy' garlic mushroom first course contained no cream, very few mushrooms, no garlic, and approximately 98 raw onions that had been forced through some sort of fine mesh and into a serving dish. It tasted exactly as you might expect. My husband had some sort of creepy pasta dish with lots of unadvertised vegetables in it (carrots and spaghetti, anybody? Want some cabbage with that? You're getting it anyway.)

Thirdly, the lavatories appear to have overflowed at some point. How do I know? Well, it was the 6 men in wellington boots walking back and forth between the bathrooms and the kitchen (the kitchen!!) carrying dripping mops and buckets, that tipped us off.

By this point in the evening we had started to find everything quite funny (funny and disturbing), but it was when we overheard another couple being told that they couldn't have the vegetarian option because [waitress points at me] "that person has already had it" that we slipped into actual hysteria. Not wanting to risk eating anything else from that kitchen, we put down enough money to cover what we'd ordered (no tip- hope I don't have to explain why), and pretty much ran out of there.

Still, it's given us something to laugh about at least.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAnonymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice quaint setting, nice breakfast”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Grabbed breakfast here on the way to the national park. The restaurant was nice and quaint, breakfast was tasty. Ordered a standard breakfast and the 3 flavour french toast with a side of bacon (I liked the toast and was addicted to coconut syrup). While there were only 2 pieces of bacon it was perfectly crispy.

Great start to the day.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobLoves314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Pretentious Food, Slow Service, and Pricey”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The menu, decoration, and prices are deceptive. You hope you are in an excellent place, but instead discover strong disappointment. The food is pretentious; salad dressing flavor was far too strong and overwhelmed the contents. The "nutmeg chicken" is dry, and so over seasoned as to be inedible. The Ono fish, common on the Island, is tasteless. Service was uneven and slow, and nearly impossible to get once you request the bill. Prices are far above anything else on the Island.

McDonalds is a far better deal and flavor, and only a few miles down the road!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing