We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, ambience - but overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Thai Restaurant

Thai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, ambience - but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

It is hard to be super excited about a place where the food is good, but the prices are not. Essentially, we felt that we ate an excellent pad thai that elsewhere would cost (say) $13 - but pay $20.99 for it. OK, I get it - they are the only game in town, but still. They also made a mistake in our order - but then again what they brought was really good.

So, all in all, great Thai food, wines [including local wines which we tried!!] at highway-robbery prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a786374534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    629
    181
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just As Good As In Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Just Returned From Dinner Here And I Must Say I Was Very impressed. The Food Is Very Authentic, Have Travelled To Thailand Many Times And It Was Just As Good As What We Have Eaten All Thru Thailand. Green Chicken Curry, Stir Fry Chicken With Basil And Fried Aubergines, Rice, Then Sticky Warm Rice With Mango And coconut Cream. They Even Have Singa And Chang Beer. Proportion Quite Generous And Service Very Good. All This And A Glass Of Wibe For $51US. Couldnt Get Much Better Than That.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flybuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good choice in Volcano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

As many people have said there are not a lot of places in Volcano to eat, but you would not go wrong in choosing Thai Thai. Food was good and fresh and exactly what we were looking for. Given the choices, you can't go wrong at Thai Thai.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travbud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Two great dinners in Volcano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Volcano, and as there aren't that many restaurants to chose from, we ended up here. It was so good, we ate dinner at Thai Thai two nights in a row. The service was very good and the food was great. They have numerous vegetarian options and the tofu is fantastic (when they say it's extra firm, they mean it). But, if you are vegetarian, make sure you ask them to prepare your dish for a full vegetarian. Some of their dishes are cooked with chicken broth or fish sauces. But, they are very accommodating and asked if we had any other allergies or sensitivities. It is a little pricey, but what isn't in Hawaii? It's definitely cheaper (and easier to get into) than the Volcano House or Kilauea Lodge restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hunnyjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
222 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place was an absolute treat after a long day of hiking through volcano natl park. The staff was very attentive. We shared the pad Thai with tofu and coconut soup with chicken....both fabulous!! We also had the lava flow and the Mai tai... Again fabulous! Even garnished with fresh flowers and and umbrella! We had the pleasure of meeting Michelle (who we believe is the manager) and she was great. This was likely the best Thai food I've ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_moore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing