We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was Thai-riffic!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Thai Restaurant

Thai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food was Thai-riffic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

While the appearance is nothing special, we thought the food certainly was. After our first meal we came back every night of our stay in Volcano. We tasted several curries and noodle dishes and thoroughly enjoyed all of them. Our favourite item was the summer roll appetizer.

Our service was fine: they checked on our drinks and periodically on our meal. One person did even recognize us as return customers and came to chat for a bit. We saw other customers also getting kind words from the staff.

If we lived in Hilo, we'd probably drive here often just for this food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Laura-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    629
    181
    60
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service-food tasteless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Absolutely the worst That food I ever ate. Tasteless, old, stale, tiny servings and rude owners. Eat at the TUK_TUK Thai food truck instead-you will be much happier. Oh yeah-this place That Thai is incredibly expensive and overpriced

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty, but not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had Pad Thai, which is pretty hard to get wrong, and so is my standard order when I go to a new Thai place. It was really mild to bland in heat, but tasty none the less. The place was empty when we were there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible, overpriced food and terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

As you walk in, you will be greeted with a whiteboard that shows their daily specials. Two of the specials were pizza and yellow curry. I don't think it's a good idea to order pizza in a Thai restaurant, but my mother-in-law did it anyway since she thought it was a good deal. When they brought out her pizza, I had to laugh. It was a grocery-store bought frozen pizza that they warmed up in the microwave. As for my Thai yellow curry, it was full of potatoes with only 3 pieces of chicken. When I ordered it, the waitress didn't even ask me how spicy I had wanted it (that completely skipped her mind). I think that's a pretty important piece of information to ask a customer at a Thai restaurant. I later had to stop her and tell her that I wanted it medium. She could have cared less. I am a big tipper (almost always more than 20%), but this is the only time in my life I can remember that i didn't leave a tip at all. This place gets away with their bad service because they don't depend on repeat customers with so many tourists coming to Volcano.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nomadicwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our first experience with Thai food. We ordered "take out" from the menu. The food was very plentiful and delicious. We tried four different dishes during our stay at Volcano Country Cottages next door. I put the number on my speed dial.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank degucken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing