We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Thai food before you look at the glowing lava” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Thai Restaurant

Thai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent Thai food before you look at the glowing lava”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The night we went, tired from traveling, the food was a refreshing surprise. I love Thai food, live in SF Bay area and this was better than most of the Thai restaurants there. This is a surprisingly large space and probably understaffed - it was very busy and there was a very large party who sat down shortly after us, basically the service was erratic, they were genuinely trying but they seemed a little disorganized. Maybe we should have eaten after going to watch the volcano rather than before, it might have been less busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    629
    181
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Surprisingly tasty Thai food. Friendly and attentive staff. In contrast to som other reviewers I found excellent Thai food, appropriately spiced (asked for medium and got medium). Originally coming from California, I am used to Thai food, and this was far better than you will get most places.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reisermedfamilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Can't say much about the restaurant itself or the service because we got take out. The food was good though and my husband and I will probably get take out again the next time we're in Volcano.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank asharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Missed the mark in every aspect”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The only positive was that we were seated quickly. From there it was downhill. I understand thai restaurants vary but this wasn't even close. Our waitress only took our order and managed to mess that up. Ordered two drinks, they never came. Spring rolls were ok, not great just okay. Pad Thai was okay, pad sea eww was okay. Both dishes were terribly bland, no flavor. The spice level is just hot, not flavor. To top it off, our waitress was at tables all around us and did not acknowledge us. She seemed angry and annoyed. Maybe it was just a really bad night for them since this place has gotten excellent reviews. Or maybe I'm used to a different style of Thai but I would not recommend or come here again. Expensive for what we got. Very disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Finkster1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The food here was great. We loved it all especially the stir fries and the fresh spring rolls were great. Highly recommend it. Service was good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Butterflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing