We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great service”

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had the magma burger which was a taco meat burger covered in muenster cheese and salsa and it was amazing! My wife had a wrap and she loved it. Also had some great local beers and our waitress was wonderful

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    386
    257
    80
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We ate here while visiting Volcano National Park. I loved the town of Volcano. Of all the places we visited on our trip, this was a place I felt I could really feel comfortable living in. Small town feeling, very quiet and sort of laid back. We washed our clothes here at the laundry mat which was connected to a hardware store where you had to go to get change and detergent. The restaurant was close by.

The food was very good and service was good. We were staying just outside the park and this was close by. I had their lava rock beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gap106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Your last choice in Volcano Village.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Its a crappy diner. They serve boring diner fare obviously shipped in from a restaurant supplier. There are much better choices in Volcano Village. I will say they never gave me food poisoning, so there's that.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Kentucky
Level Contributor
181 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good burger and Christian owners”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

In Hawaii, it seemed restaurants are all high priced. So, with that in mind, this restaurant for lunch was good. Had burgers and they had a variety to choose from. Quite tasty and filling. Christian messages around the restaurant gave me a warm feeling. The restaurant was busy and appeared to have several locals there. This is always a plus for me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've been reading other reviews of this charming café and am amazed that the reviews are so high and low. We were touring the Volcano National Park and wanted to visit the town of Volcano. We spotted several restaurants and decided on this one. We were extremely pleased that we did. There were 6 of us - each one ordered a different meal and ALL of us were thrilled with what we ordered. The staff was great - especially our server Puna. We had a delightful time and would definitely visit this restaurant again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing