We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great location”

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
383 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Found Lava Rock a few years ago and make it a point to eat there whenever we are in the area. Have had lunch and dinner. The last visit we were too eraly for dinner so we had a late Plate Lunch of mahi-mahi. Superb fish. Their Lilikoi (Passion Fruit) salad dressing is a highlight. We take home a few bottles each time. Service is good, staff are friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    386
    257
    80
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountains Usa
Level Contributor
284 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food in a comfortable, local setting”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our dinner was very good, nothing spectacular but neither were the prices. It was an enjoyable meal and evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
654 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Good start to the day. For only $9-10 you can get a nice pancake, French toast or egg and bacon breakfast. We wanted a big breakfast before our day of touring. This Worked great. We wondered about this restaurant based on reviews. But it was morning and there were no tour busses. We were greeted and our order was placed quickly. The water & coffee was brought right out. Those that ordered the french toast said it was only ok. One said the sweetbread taste was too sweet, the other said it was a little mushy in center. Overall service was good but not great. The food was good. The food was a little slow arriving and then it was slow cashing out, but that seems standard in Hawaii. The restrooms were clean. We recommend if not too busy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just so so”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We ate here as part of a bus tour around the island. The meal cost $14.00 each and included a drink. I ordered the grilled Mahi Mahi. I must say, for $14.00, I expected a bit more. The fish was overcooked and a bit bland and the sides were so forgettable that as I write this review a week later, I honestly cannot remember what they were. The iced tea was good however. All in all, I'd say if you go on the bus tour, save your money and pack a lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunk145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
1 review
“Great burgers”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Great food, burgers are flame broiled, fries were great as well, good service, only problem was the friendly flies who wanted to land on you all the time.

Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing