We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're hungry...it will do”

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ferndale, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“If you're hungry...it will do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

There's not a lot of dining choices in the Volcanos Park area. We were pretty hungry late afternoon and this was where we ended up. The prices are pretty steep for what you end up getting. The Mahi Mahi sandwich was fairly bland, served on meager tasting bread. So-so veggie burgers and watered down iced tea. Maybe we came on a bad day?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    376
    251
    75
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nothing special, better to pass on this”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We went out of our way to eat here, and delayed our trip back to Kona for it. I had heard good things about the place but perhaps they are out of date.

Food was mediocre, nothing special. Small portions, kinda reminds me of a truck stop food spot .. which I guess it it, attached to a gas station.

If you happen to be there, it's passable .. but I would not go out of my way to eat here.
So many better place in Kona and Hilo ..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Option In Volcano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Not fancy but a pretty varied selection of reasonably priced, well-prepared food. Delicious desserts and full bar. What more do you want in Volcano?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice place, right in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

At first search, you may miss the place. It is in the back of a small mall off of Old Volcano road as all the other restaurants are in Volcano.
It is nice and open atmosphere with art on the walls and a local ambiance. The menu offers pretty much what you would need with decent choices. We ate there for breakfast and it was good and the prices were not that crazy. We enjoyed it and would go back again if we were in town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Anywhere but here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I don't think I've ever rated a restaurant this low, but this place truly earned it. The service was slow and apathetic. The food was bland and tasted as if it were Sam's club burger patties slammed in the microwave. Tour buses stop here frequently, so there was a huge line for the toilets. And to add misery to bad food, they wanted $5 to plug in a phone charger. Surely Volcano has better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodiemomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing