We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Service, and Great Price”

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service, and Great Price”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Keep your tummy and your wallet full. This place is good and cheap! Great place to take the family. Large variety of good food, especially if you had picky children.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    386
    257
    80
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Food in a Pinch”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We wanted to grab something fast and get back to the National Park so we stopped in here. The waitress seemed disinterested in her job, but the food came out really quick and, while it wasn't the best I've ever had, it was good enough for what we paid. My BLT was dry but my boyfriend's burger was good. Yummy desserts, too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great service”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Casual eating. Really friendly and great service. Meals were great and reasonable prices. We were in luck with wonderful Live Music.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tatkins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
“Just your average diner”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We came here to grab a bite after hiking and while waiting for the evening volcano glow. It’s only a few minutes drive from when you exit the Volcano park. It’s a typical simple diner. Food was good. Service was ok. I got given our bill when we were half way through our meal. I was hoping for a coffee so, once I’d finished, asked the waiter if I could have one. He said that if you’ve finished you can just go next door and get the same coffee for cheaper than the ‘restaurant’ price he would charge me. It’s then that I realized that small grocery store next door was attached (and probably owned by the same people). If you want just a coffee just grab it from there (no seats though).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank foreverblended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just right when you are wearing shorts or hiking clothes...”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nowhere in Hawaii is super fancy. We live in New York City and are used to sophisticated food this place was very nice, pleasant service, good burgers, lovely coconut cake for dessert. For those of you who know NYC it is a lot like EJ's on 73 rd and Third Ave. Don't expect gourmet but for a nice plain meal on a windy rainy January evening it is just fine. And you can wear your flip flops.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing