We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough round the edges but good!”

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Rough round the edges but good!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Don't let appearance put you off. This is a very basic diner and could do with updating; however they offer a decent selection of food at very reasonable prices.

Food is definitely 'home cooking' style but is very good. I ordered the crab cake appetiser ($9.99) and was presented with 5 huge homemade cakes which were packed with crab, my wife had a nice piece of fish and I had homemade meatballs.

Tex out waiter was friendly and efficient.

Not somewhere to go for a special occasion or romantic meal but ideal if you want some tasty wholesome food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    389
    258
    80
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
718 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Good food and clean restaurant .”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We did not have a choice as to where we would have lunch as we were on a one-day bus tour on Gray Line. We were told that lunch would be here and prior to our coming, our driver/guide asked what we wanted to eat. There was not much choice so my husband and I both ordered the grilled fish. When we arrived there, we only had to wait for a short time to get our food. Our waitress was friendly and very efficient Our grilled mackerel came with steamed white rice and and delicious marcaroni salad. Surprisingly, the fish had a very good flavor. The macaroni salad was, also, good. We enjoyed our delicious lunch. The walls, tables and chair matched (wood). The cafe was very clean. The restrooms were located outside the building. The area surrounding the restaurant had beautiful plants and flowers. We did not stay long so after eating, we headed to Kilauea volcano. We did not expect much from this isolated cafe but we were very pleased with everything.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The food and service were tasty. The location very closet to the Hawaii Volcano National Park. Had a nice lunch before returning to the park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CRAE0457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The coleslaw is awesome, as well as the homemade sesame dressing. The menu offers a good variety of food and it had a friendly, pleasant atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good service, good food, and nice building. Plus it was the only cafe open in Volcano during our visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tommo744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing