We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay at VNP!”

Kilauea Military Camp
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cary, N. Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay at VNP!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This mini military base is the perfect place to stay on the east side of the Island of Hawaii if you are eligible. There are 1, 2, and 3 bedroom cabins. All are uniquely decorated with different bed configurations. They are not fancy, but they are cute and comfortable. Best of all, you are right on the rim of Volcano National Park for a great price! In addition to cabins, the base has an arcade, movie theater, cafeteria, and bowling alley so there's lots to do if you stay awhile. They give you plenty of towels and linens. The cabin had a fireplace and a full kitchen. We really enjoyed our two night stay and would recommend it to anyone that doesn't require a boutique or spa while visiting VNP.

Helpful?
Thank ATravelBugInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    40
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Who knew??”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We recently spent a night up at VNP and based upon some insider advice, had each of our meals here. We are not military but made very welcome. I was told that the accommodation remains only for the military but us civilians are very welcome to eat. I am sure no one is expecting a hatted restaurant but if you are happy with an all you can eat buffet with solid plain food, this is the place for you. All our food was hot and fresh. A glass of wine can be fetched from the next door bar. Everyone is friendly and chatty, full of families on holidays... I loved it. So convenient and easy. Dinner was about $18 each and breakfast was $5-6 (this was ordered off of a menu).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewcastleClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location - good value for money”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

It is in the national park, so you can easily get a nice lunch or dinner here in between the activities. It is cafeteria-style, so do not expect anything fancy. Salads are fresh and there are several things to choose from. It was not very clear for us in the beginning, if you are allowed to eat here, if you are not staying at the camp or if you are not a military person. We still wonder, why they do not advertise and serve more people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad, but nothing to rave about”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I wish I could give this 3.5 stars. My husband I were starving after hiking around the crater, so we both ordered meals which included the potato bar, basic salad bar, soup, and I think ice cream (we rarely eat desserts, so never pursued that). The soup was tasty and hot, but the potatoes (wrapped in foil) seemed to have been sitting too long. The salad bar was fresh but very basic. My husband ordered some type of spicy chicken, but said it was just okay. I ordered the teriyaki chicken, which was quite good, but stone cold (as if just removed from the refrigerator). My husband had them heat it up for me. Again, the food is not bad, but it is not great overall. It was convenient after a long day hiking, but after the first night we ate elsewhere (Tuk Tuk Thai Food Truck) and the Volcano House Restaurant. Like their hotel accommodations, the restaurant could use a really good cleaning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Went downhill from last year.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Our group comes here on a business trip every year. The location is awesome. Had dinner and breakfast there. However, dinner was uninspired, over cooked and tasteless with grease thrown in. Lots of buffet sides so that made up for 7 bad main dishes. Breakfast was worse-inedible and cold. Steam trays weren't on, everything was cold and greasy. Bacon was hard and oily. Thank goodness the coffee was hot. Is someone running the place? The Hale Koa folks took over and it got worse instead of better.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahupoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea Military Camp also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing