We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

You will not be disappointed you stayed at this hotel while in Volcano. Staff are friendly, there is the cozy upstairs with foyer and comfy sofas, dinner table, coffee and half the rooms are downstairs. The great glass windows that surrounds the dinner tables are fantastic and adds to the charm of what looks like vacations in a cottage. The jungle around makes it quieter and you wouldn't tell that the highway is less than a minute away. Volcano is a very small town, and therefore everything is a few minutes away.

They have a great hot tub section and enough parking spaces. The prices are very reasonable (considering how pricey it is in Volcano). The Hotel absolutely needs to improve breakfast. Yes, the papaya boat was incredibly original and tasty, and the fresh banana bread is ok, but those were the only two options. You also do have hot chocolate and coffee, and water anytime. On the second day, they did serve some unusual fruits (tastes like lychee) and I was glad to have a third option, but the fruits were infested with small ants and I had to report it so they could take it away. Had it not been for the papaya boat, the breakfast would have been ridiculous.

Also, there is a no shoe policy upstairs and although I understand the idea, I think there should be a better system. When I had to go up and down the stairs several time, wearing hiking boots, it was annoying. For some that were wearing flip flops, it was easy but when you need to tie and untie the shoes repeatedly, it doesn't work. I do not offer any solution to compensate, but I think this system could be improved.

The room in itself was great, the bathroom was nice and the beds were comfortable. The television was entertaining at night, they also had water offered in the room and a large table with 2 chairs. To be noted that I was in the accessible room, and it did a wonderful job. I also appreciated that the room was isolated from the upstairs, therefore less noisy.

In all, this was a great place to stay and I would definitely go back but I would plan to have breakfast elsewhere to get more options.

Room Tip: Ask to not have the room that gives on to the foyer zone/kitchen, because it gets noisy early - to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arxxra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    136
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
108
239
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanalei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A wonderful quiet, CLEAN, friendly place to stay just minutes from the Hawaii National Volcano Park. The Volcano Inn tucked away just off the main highway in nicely manicured, jungle like, tree ferns and anthirium plants throughout the property. Clean rooms, hot coffee & local papayas for a light morning treat before going out exploring for the day. The 2nd story dinning glassed in area over looks the lower parking and more of the lovely Hapu'u Ferns, local to the immediate surrounding area. Big thumbs up for the Volcano Inn from visiting locals from the Garden Island of Kaua'i. A Tai food lunch wagon just steps outside the driveway entrance or more food choices within the Volcano Village, but I believe they all close by 9:00 PM.

Room Tip: Ask for the Huala'lai Room. It's upstairs, just outside of the common eating area but we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPKHanalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
162 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The main advantage of staying in Volcano village is its great location just next to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park entrance. However accommodation is pretty expensive in Volcano, and eating options are very limited. Budget conscious travelers may prefer to stay in the charming town of Hilo, a 40-minute drive from Volcano.

I chose the Volcano Inn based on its good reviews. I was lucky to stay in the main building, in a corner window room upstairs with great view of the fern forest. Apparently guests staying in the old location are more often disappointed, so ask for a room in the main building.

There are several good things that I liked:
- Comfortable room, although amenities are minimal (water bottle and tissues would be a great addition)
- Free and reliable wifi
- Free breakfast although quite limited (coffee, fresh papaya filled with yogurt, banana bread), served in a lovely room overlooking the forest.

However, my room was pretty noisy: I could hear guests talking in the communal living area, the road traffic on the nearby highway, the stove in the morning, and the person preparing breakfast from 5 am.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanoinn, Manager at Volcano Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Volcano Inn's original location is only two blocks across the highway from our newer office location where guests check in. The original Volcano Inn location is where all of our most popular and premier rooms are located including the corner window rooms. Beautifully tucked into natural rain forest, the units have been attentively landscaped back to the native Hawaiian flora and fauna, and are more private and cottage like. Both locations have free hot tub access, parking and wireless Internet. Volcano Inn's original location is less than a minute's drive from the office location where a free breakfast is served every morning.

Guests seeking an extra measure of quiet are encouraged to stay at our original location. The standard rooms are located at our newer office location and are all part of one same building so some noise is unavoidable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Volcano Inn. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful! And don't miss out on their breakfast! The banana bread was so good that I asked for a few pieces to take with us and they didn't even blink an eye. They had it packaged up in no time. The first night we were there it was a little rainy and cold so the hot tub was awesome!

The first night we went to the Thai restaurant in town, but I have to say that the Thai Tuk Tuk next to Volcano Inn was much better!

Excellent location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

In my opinion, This is a great place to stay when visiting the Volcano's National Park. The corner window room offers a great and exotic view in the forest, it is quiet and very private. The main building has a friendly and helping staff (we made free phone calls and reservations and they were accommodating) and the banana bread at breakfast is just delicious! Recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pascal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA & HI
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here for three (3) nights and really enjoyed the friendly staff and convenience of location. Our room was downstairs with outside private entrance and parking near our door. Upstairs was the room to relax in with wood stove and coffee/tea and good breakfast in the morning. Enjoyed the papaya etc. I would stay here again and the surroundings are gorgeous. Has a hot tub out in the tropical surroundings. Our room was comfortable & clean. While there we tried some Thai food that was next door on certain days as the truck seemed to move around but it was really good. Also up the road is the Kilauea Lodge and Lava Rock Café and the Volcano park close. Thank You! for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent 3 nights here because of the proximity to Volcanoes National Park just a mile away. Our room was at the second site close by. It was cool, a bit dripping from the trees, and very quiet. The view from the corner window is amazing, we were in the rain forest. The bed and bath were fine and the wifi worked. I usually want a balcony but the corner window room was excellent. It was like being outdoors but with the comfort of inside. Complimentary breakfast is served in the main location. The room is all windows so the rain forest is right there. Breakfast was just-baked banana bread and succulent mango halves filled with yogurt, pineapple, nuts, and sliced bananas. And, in the Hawaiian way, leave your sandals outside before entering. We had a special and memorable stay at the Volcano Inn.

Room Tip: The corner window rooms for the rain forest experience. And, multiple nights are discounted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHudsonValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
846 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn

Property: Volcano Inn
Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve unique rooms, all with their own private bathroom. We have rooms to accommodate two guests or six. We have a common area for complimentary morning coffee and breakfast. Relax in our hot tub after a day at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is only a couple miles away. We have the nicest rooms and the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing