We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull Hotel”
Review of Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
637 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2008

My wife and I just spent 10 days on the big island to celebrate our 30th. We booked all 10 nights at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa north of Kona which was really nice. One of the side trips we wanted to take was to go to the Volcano, but after looking at all the things to do we decided to find a hotel and spend one night. We discovered the Volcano Inn on the internet and after reading reviews from tripadvisor we decided to give it a try.

The hotel was easy to find and we were very impressed with not only the room but overall. This is a gem folks, if you are looking fro a great place to stay this is it, I wish we could had stayed an extra night, but they were booked the rest of the week.

Also they do not take credit cards, so you must send them a check or money order in advance.

Overall if you are looking for a great hotel I would stay here again.

Also note there is another hotel with this name, the hotel is located at:

11-3832 Second Street. This is not a mailing address.
GPS Coordinates 19:26:0.5N 155:13:21.5W

Greg

  • Liked — Location to park and overall quality
  • Disliked — No hottub or pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    136
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
108
239
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

I can only reiterate the views previously expressed. My stay was unfortunately for just one night. I could have happily stayed here much longer.

The room was warm, light flooded, clean, comfortable and oh, the wonderful jungle just outside the large corner windows. What a delight.

I admired the cork floor which was warm and sound absorbing, the towel
warmer a touch of luxury.

The kitchenette offered tea and coffee, but although Volcano Inn calls
itself a B&B, breakfast is not included in the price. I paid $99.16 for one night. Expensive for my budget, but very well worth the splurge. I could not have been more satisified had I been in a $350/
night room at The Ritz, and if The Ritz guests knew about Volcano Inn,
they would wish that they were there instead.

  • Liked — comfort, lots of windows, the rainforest grounds
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

Place was great we arrived early and they were kind enough to allow us to drop off our luggage and gave us our keys. Excellent location

  • Liked — Location & Price
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank giyo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Visiting the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is such an awesome experience, we were glad that we took more than one day to see it. Since we were staying a week on the other side of the island at the Waikoloa Hilton, we drove our rental car to Volcano and saw the sites along the Hilo side of the island along the way. We stayed at the lovely Volcano Inn at the Village of Volcano, just one mile from the park entrance. The price of our stay was very reasonable and we enjoyed our stay there. The Volcano Inn sits in a beautiful rain forest and we were wowed by the giant tree ferns right outside our huge picture windows of our room. A misting rain and cool temps were very pleasant too. The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable and our room, which was half of a cottage, was very comfortable and nice. The in room coffee made with rain water is YUMMY! There are a few small restaurants a few blocks away and the food was good. The village is very small and friendly. We highly recommend the Volcano Inn!
Just remember to bring a rain proof parka for this trip! We saw a lot of people who were very cold and wet because they did not have a rain coat for the park.

  • Liked — Beautiful location and quiet atmoshere
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed at the Volcano room for 2 nights, the room is very clean and spaceous even for 4 of us(2 adults and 2 kids) and it has everything we needed, the beds were comfortable and the owner Ron is very nice and helpful. This is our first time to stay at a lodging other than a hotel, I am real glad that I have made the right decision, not only it's cheaper than hotel, it's much more cozy too. I highly recommend the Volcano Inn to anyone who want to live near the volcano park, it's only 5 mins drive!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed in Nene Cottage. We loved the place!!!! The room was clean and equipped with all necessities and more. The view from the window was breathtaking. The Inn is located close to Volcano National Park, shopping center (the map of the area with all the dining places/shops was provided by the owners :-) WE'LL DEFINITELY BE BACK!!!

  • Liked — Overall impresion
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AMSzcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

This was great value for money. This is a family owned inn; so you get a very homely feeling. Rooms were nice and very aesthetically built, using fine wood. Our room had large windows, when you look out you get a feeling of being nestled right in the middle of the rain forest. Just stone throw distance from Volcano National Park.

Some things you need to be aware of:

1. In the room we stayed, there was natural sky lighting, but because it was a full moon night, too much light came in and we couldn't sleep well. So make sure you bring a set of shades (or some sleeping pills!).

2. Make sure you tell the owner Ron or his wife Jade if you need any room service (changing towels, removing garbage, filling up water). Don't assume this will be done by default.

3. They only accept checks, no credit cards.

-Prasanna Padmanabhan

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ppadmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn

Property: Volcano Inn
Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve unique rooms, all with their own private bathroom. We have rooms to accommodate two guests or six. We have a common area for complimentary morning coffee and breakfast. Relax in our hot tub after a day at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is only a couple miles away. We have the nicest rooms and the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing