We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little home away from home - loved it and can't wait to go back. Hi, Jake!”
Review of Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at the Volcano Inn June 2011 and wow were we surprised, we had not known what a special, magical tropical treat this place is; it very quickly felt like home to us. Be prepared to take off your shoes before you enter, and you’ll soon appreciate a magnificent common room with beautiful natural woods, comfy little tables, a magnificent view of the lovely jungle vegetation all around. Much (or all?) of the place is hand-built using a lot of natural native materials, it’s a marvel to look at. The rooms are very large and full of nice unexpected goodies like books, DVDs (but who’d watch a dvd in such a paradise?!), and more. You can walk around the paths in the back yard and soak in the natural beauty of the place, enjoying a freshly made mug of coffee while doing so. One special treat we got was to speak with a fascinating individual and geologist, Jake Lagoni, who sat with us and treated us with wonderful conversation over coffee and fresh-baked organic muffins. We enjoyed Volcano Inn more than we can say and were so sorry to leave our little temporary jungle “home”, but we know we are going back – the next time we go to The Big Island, we’ll definitely stay at Volcano Inn again. This place would be a bargain at twice the price. I hope Jake will be there!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs require 2 flights of stairs - difficult for elderly/disabled. All rooms are wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woofin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 429 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Nice place to stay. However the wife of the owner literally yelled at me before storming of the laundry room. I had previously asked a lady who worked at the Inn if I could do my laundry. She responded positively. While I was putting everything in the washer, another lady came over screaming that I was not allowed to touch the machine and other things. She then left. I found out that she was the wife. Not impressed all at because there was no apology what so ever.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank SignedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was originally going to rent a house as there were 5 of us but I ended up renting two rooms here for less money and it worked out well. They actually have a shared living room like area for guests as well as tables overlooking the rainforest that you can have coffee and read at. They also had a shared microwave and fridge for guest to use and even provided some paper bowls and silverware so that if you brought some cereal or very basic food items along you could prepare them. Muffins and coffee are provided in the morning. Everything was very clean and the rooms were nice and looked out into the rainforest with large windows. We liked it .

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Booked this place for 3 nights based off TripAdvisor reviews.

As others have stated, it's a bit nerve-racking to mail a personal check to some stranger to reserve a room. When we first pulled up to the Inn's main building, I actually became even more apprehensive, since it was rainy out and the inn looked, well, a bit shabby and perhaps even too remote. (It was much better the next day in the sunshine).

Initial observations:
- The Inn is located pretty much at the very end of Old Volcano Road, just before the dead end. The three blocks or so closest to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (HVNP) are a few small strip malls with food and gas; the stretch closest towards the Inn are mostly other bed and breakfasts / residential areas. The driveway and parking lot are lined with gravel rather than paved.

- The town of Volcano -- or at least the part of it closest to HVNP where most of the BnB's listed on this site are -- is VERY small. It feels more like living in a small community in the middle of the woods than living in a "town," per se. The touristy area is clustered within the aforementioned three blocks of the Old Volcano Rd, so I was definitely apprehensive when we drove into town and discovered, well, very little aside from trees... (I hail from NYC, so perhaps my definition & expectations of "town" are a bit skewed.)

- Office is on the 2nd floor of the main lodge. Sign at the bottom of the stairs tells you to take your shoes off so as not to track mud upstairs; clear, plastic blinds keep rainwater from soaking the steps.

- The "corner rooms" are located on a second site a few blocks away / across Hwy 11 in a residential neighborhood. The driveways are VERY easy to miss despite the owner's carefully drawn maps, because the first driveway is (again) gravel-lined and narrow and the strip of 4 parking spaces is pretty small. His hand-drawn map shows two signs for the Volcano Inn; the first, in reality, is wooden and nearly hidden within the forest. By the time you see the second, neon one at the edge of a small strip of parking spaces, you've pretty much passed the lodge. At least that's what we did...we had to put the car in reverse to get back to our spot in either of the first two of those spaces.

- In the rain, the (ohia?) rainforest ferns arching over the walkway to the cabins can seem dark, depressing, and overgrown. Again, it's much more pleasant in the daylight and sunshine. Our room smelled of wet wood when we first arrived; the owner provides a dehumidifier to protect the woodwork and make the room more liveable.

- The (corner window) room itself is spacious and reflects the wonderful carpentry skills described in others' reviews. I really appreciated little "extra" touches like the towel warmer in the bathroom (even though I didn't use it) and the emphasis on solar power.

- The so-called skylight is, well, a solar powered LIGHT in the ceiling, not a clear sheet of glass or moonroof like what I was expecting. It's very bright in daytime, so don't expect to take mid-afternoon siestas or laze around in the softer light streaming in the side windows. Having booked 3 nights here, we planned to take our HVNP visit at a nice lazy pace, checking out some sights in the morning, returning for some RnR, heading out again for a hike later on, heading back to shower or whatnot before dinner, etc. The very bright light in the cabin throughout the day interfered a bit with our relaxed approach, since it kind of pushed us to get out more.

- Here's resolving the "no breakfast served to keep prices low" policy and the reviews about free muffins: no, they do not serve breakfast, per se, but there are always organic muffins and coffee in the dining area of the main lodge. I didn't discover these until we were checking out, because we stayed offsite in the corner rooms rather than in the main lodge.

Room Tip: Go for the corner lodge for privacy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 113011b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night after hiking the volcano all day. 6/7/11. First impressions were "Wow, super clean!" The place is spotless! You must leave your shoes outside which was fine. They have a chair set up next to a shoe rack where everyone leaves their shoes. Loved the hot tub after hiking all day! They didn't offer us a towel though and had to use our bath towel after using the hot tub. So we didn't have a dry towel for our shower that night. Oh well, it was ok. The bed was comfy, pillows were ok, not as comfy. There is no air conditioning, the room was super hot when we checked in, but opened the windows and cooled the room down while we were in the hot tub. They offer a breakfast, but we didn't have any, we went to breakfast down the road and it was fabulous! Beware, there's a rooster that lives close by and he was pretty noisy! Crowed till about 11:00 pm and then started up again at 6:00 am! But my husband and I thought it added charm to the experience. But one night was enough for me here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saundra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent 3 nights in this Inn and it is very clean and quiet and close to the National Park and affordable. Great size room with the bathroom and in the morning they serve coffee/ tea/ hot chocolate and muffin. They have a common refrigerator to keep the food. The only thing happen to us that we left our orange juice for our breakfast as we do not drink coffee or tea or chocolate. Next day morning when we went upstairs the whole new bottle of orange juice was gone....... We were so disappointed about this issue as the stores are far from Volcano and if you get sth in Volcano is very expensive. So I would not suggest anybody to leave any food in the common refrigerator. Other than that our stay was great!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digombori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Found this place at random off the internet. The accommodation is a collection of small cottages sitting in the rain forest, just off Hwy 11 and about 10 minutes outside the Volcanoes National Park -- so perfectly placed. We had one of the "corner window" cottages which as the name suggests has a full-corner double window looking into the forest (illuminated at night) -- very romantic! The site includes an outdoor hot tub and off-street parking (although probably not practical for really big cars). There's no breakfast available, although there're coffee facilities and a general store in the village. For the price this is a fantastic, romantic spot to those wanting a quiet spot with no interruptions.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner window cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simoninireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1,000 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
709 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn

Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $171 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve unique rooms, all with their own private bathroom. We have rooms to accommodate two guests or six. We have a common area for complimentary morning coffee and breakfast. Relax in our hot tub after a day at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is only a couple miles away. We have the nicest rooms and the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing