We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed as a group yielded Fantastic Stay”
Review of 5th Street Ohana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
5th Street Ohana
Ranked #14 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Stayed as a group yielded Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This property is way better than staying at a hotel. We were a large group and we took up the entire property. The property is nice size with two kitchens, two bathrooms, outside porch, and a relaxing feel after hiking.
We traveled on a budget and we used the kitchen as if it were mom's place. If you need a place to stay in Volcano and you want to make sure it is nice and not too expensive, this is it.

不如回家

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sound B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Mahalo nui loa for such a kind review. We were happy to host your family during your time in the Volcano area.

Our 5th Street Ohana property has an ideal set up for families wanting to save money by cooking meals in their "home away from home". The kitchens are fully stocked with pots, pans, cooking utensils, plates, bowls and more! Cooking in our spacious kitchens that over look the Hawaiian landscape is an experience not to be missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here because of the cost seemed good for what was offered. We found the little bungalow on 5th Street to be a nice, economical place for a stop to visit the volcano.
The place was clean, new, fresh and comfortable. Much better than a place we stayed in Hilo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to write a review on 5th Street Ohana. We are so glad that you found 5th Street Ohana quiet, comfortable and affordable. The 5th Street Ohana property is secluded in the rainforest, only minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. It's our goal to provide all of our guests with the best of the best while traveling. We believe that traveling should be relaxing and comfortable, just like home.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the Big Island. -5th Street Ohana Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

5th Street Ohana is peaceful serenity in the area of volcano. We had a memorable vacation and enjoyed our stay at this beautiful and peaceful setting only a couple of miles from the Hawaii volcano national park.
For the price we were shocked to get such great beds and pillows. The entire house felt new and very clean.
If you are going to the Big Island and you want a place that is quality for a reasonable price I suggest you give it a try.
Our only issue was parking when other guests were at the property as well. But, that was a minor moment as the other guests didn't seem to know what to do.
The basket of goodies made us smile big.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bassfishing4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Mahalo for the review. Your words have brought a smile to our faces!

This property has been operating since late 2011. The two units, Sir Spencer and Queen Emma, were fully furnished just prior to opening the property to visitors. We offer our guests top quality linens and bedding in order to fulfill our goal of being a 5 star facility. Our unbeatable location in the rainforest makes for a private retreat while still being in close proximity to the Volcanoes National Park.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a BRILLIANT time at this lovely little place. It was exceptionally clean - spotless in fact. The furnishings and decor were very nice. We had the studio and my son slept on the sofa bed. Everything has been thought of here. Torches, umbrellas, books, DVDs p, shampoo/conditioner etc. Nothing is forgotten! We taxed 2 nights and found it be a lot like home. It is remote, very private and quiet. After a long day exploring the park this is wonderful. My son who is 12 also enjoyed the large concreted area (like a verandah or pergola) out front - he could play here for a while. I also got a great rate! Highly recommend this place. Very nice indeed. Had a truly lovely time here.

Room Tip: Hidden gem! Shop in Hilo first though. Visit the local Thai restaurant. The food is AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of our 5th Street Ohana property. It is our goal to provide a 5 star experience and provide all the comforts of home, and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! The covered lanai (porch) is a great place to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of the property. It's a great for kids to play or for the adults to enjoy that freshly brewed, morning cup of coffee.

Thank you for providing the excellent tip to shop in Hilo prior to coming to this area. Shopping is limited in Volcano Village and Hilo or Kona will provide a nice selection of grocery stores.

We appreciate hearing from you and hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Absolutely fantastic place to stay. Everything in the room was picture perfect. Amazing job by the owners. We would love to go back. Amazing Experience.
We had a great trip to Hawaii. Weather was perfect. We did lot of walking and hiking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Mahalo nui loa for writing a review of our 5th Street Ohana property. We are so glad to hear that the room was “picture perfect”. At 5th Street Ohana we do our best to provide the best service and amenities to our guests. The units are tastefully decorated, inspired by the rainforest and volcano. Both units have cal-king beds, full kitchen, wifi/cable, complimentary breakfast items, and much more! 5th Street Ohana is a perfect place to stay to explore Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the southern part of the island, and Hilo. Situated for couples, families, adventurers, or relaxers, 5th Street Ohana is the “very best”.

Again we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Aloha and we welcome you back anytime. -5th Street Ohana Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at 5th Street O'hana this summer because of a family friend. He took care of all the arrangements and made our stay perfect.
We were in the Queen Emma while our friends stayed in the Sir Spencer. We had a chance to look at both places and we were impressed.
Queen Emma was done in earth tones with one big bed and a pull out couch.
Sir Spencer was done in red and black tones. I asked the owner why those colors? The response was that they were the colors of the volcano. Dah.
It was a nice place to stay and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Mahalo for the review of 5th Street Ohana. At 5th Street Ohana we specialize in providing our guests with top quality amenities to make their Hawaiian vacation more memorable. Comfortable and cozy are just two words that describe Queen Emma and 5th Street Ohana. 5th Street Ohana provides fresh fruit, juice, water, milk, tea, coffee, eggs, and bread; enough food to start your morning off in the right direction. As well as housekeeping services for longer stays.

Both units at 5th Street Ohana are tastefully decorated to reflect Volcano: Earth and Fire. Enjoy both the active volcano and the native rainforest while visiting Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. After a long day of traveling or sight-seeing, why not relax at our spacious house with the perks of a small bed and breakfast?

Mahalo nui loa- 5th Street Ohana Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family of four recently stayed at 5th Street Ohana for two nights. We received plenty of emails and information prior to our arrival. The people were organized and good. We even received a call from the owner after we returned home making sure everything was fine.. We felt very welcomed by the statue in the drive. Driving on dark lava made it clear we were in the volcano are. There was candy, fruit, and plenty of inforation on the place. In general. The place we stayed is huge yet cozy and comfortable. The kitchen is as big as a home mega times larger. The two bedrooms done in red, white and black had enough space.
We appreciate finding such a nice large unit and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Mahalo nui loa for your kind words and review. At 5th Street Ohana we like to provide our guests with enough information as possible. Traveling to Hawaii can be overwhelming, but 5th Street Ohana staff provides the latest information to our guests via emails and in the rooms. 5th Street Ohana provides starter foods, such as eggs, bread, milk, fruit, juice, etc, for the duration of your stay.

The unit described here is our Sir Spencer, two bedroom unit. It’s decorated with the lava theme of red and black. While the unit is big, it is very welcoming and perfect to relax at any time of the day.

Mahalo and we look forward to seeing you again at 5th Street Ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 31 in Volcano
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Street Ohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Street Ohana

Property: 5th Street Ohana
Address: 5th Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 5th Street Ohana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5th Street O’hana is a fusion of casual Hawaiian atmosphere with the quality and style of a secluded, small B&B. In Hawaiian, the word Ohana means family. 5th Street Ohana is a small house that brings family living to the new millennium with privacy, comfort and conveniences for today’s travelers.5th Street provides individual explorers and family escapades a comfortable accommodation close to the popular Volcano National Park. 5th Street has been labeled as “The Best Value” for families who want to explore the Big Island.On the Big Island of Hawaii, these Hawaii accommodations are less than a 10 minute drive from Volcanoes National Park. Free Wi-Fi is provided in all rooms.Surrounded by forests, guests enter each facility through a private entrance. Accommodations at 5th Street Ohana feature a flat-screen cable TV, iPod docking station, a full kitchen and a private bathroom. A dining area, sitting area and a view of the grounds are also provided in all accommodations.Under the open night sky, guests can view stars. Breakfast items are included for guests to prepare their own meals at Ohana 5th Street.Thomas A Jagger Museum and Hawaiian Volcano Observatory are within a 15 minute drive of 5th Street Ohana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 5th Street Ohana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5th Street Ohana Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing