We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and cozy”
Review of 5th Street Ohana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
5th Street Ohana
Ranked #14 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at 5th Street O'hana this summer because of a family friend. He took care of all the arrangements and made our stay perfect.
We were in the Queen Emma while our friends stayed in the Sir Spencer. We had a chance to look at both places and we were impressed.
Queen Emma was done in earth tones with one big bed and a pull out couch.
Sir Spencer was done in red and black tones. I asked the owner why those colors? The response was that they were the colors of the volcano. Dah.
It was a nice place to stay and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Mahalo for the review of 5th Street Ohana. At 5th Street Ohana we specialize in providing our guests with top quality amenities to make their Hawaiian vacation more memorable. Comfortable and cozy are just two words that describe Queen Emma and 5th Street Ohana. 5th Street Ohana provides fresh fruit, juice, water, milk, tea, coffee, eggs, and bread; enough food to start your morning off in the right direction. As well as housekeeping services for longer stays.

Both units at 5th Street Ohana are tastefully decorated to reflect Volcano: Earth and Fire. Enjoy both the active volcano and the native rainforest while visiting Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. After a long day of traveling or sight-seeing, why not relax at our spacious house with the perks of a small bed and breakfast?

Mahalo nui loa- 5th Street Ohana Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family of four recently stayed at 5th Street Ohana for two nights. We received plenty of emails and information prior to our arrival. The people were organized and good. We even received a call from the owner after we returned home making sure everything was fine.. We felt very welcomed by the statue in the drive. Driving on dark lava made it clear we were in the volcano are. There was candy, fruit, and plenty of inforation on the place. In general. The place we stayed is huge yet cozy and comfortable. The kitchen is as big as a home mega times larger. The two bedrooms done in red, white and black had enough space.
We appreciate finding such a nice large unit and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Mahalo nui loa for your kind words and review. At 5th Street Ohana we like to provide our guests with enough information as possible. Traveling to Hawaii can be overwhelming, but 5th Street Ohana staff provides the latest information to our guests via emails and in the rooms. 5th Street Ohana provides starter foods, such as eggs, bread, milk, fruit, juice, etc, for the duration of your stay.

The unit described here is our Sir Spencer, two bedroom unit. It’s decorated with the lava theme of red and black. While the unit is big, it is very welcoming and perfect to relax at any time of the day.

Mahalo and we look forward to seeing you again at 5th Street Ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently had a chance to spend time on the Big Island and decided to try 5th Street O'hana. The home is literally right on 5th Street and very close to both the village and the national park. We thought the price was an incredible deal for the area.
We loved the comfort of the bed, selection of videos, the huge kitchen, and the peace and quiet of the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of 5th Street Ohana. We are glad you enjoyed our stay with us. 5th Street Ohana is conveniently located in a sub-division of Volcano and is literally minutes away from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Ohana translates to family and our guests at 5th Street Ohana are treated like our family. We take pride in providing a great lodging experience for everyone.

All the main beds at 5th Street Ohana are king-size and have a comfortable kitchen and living room. After a long day of exploring, come back to your Volcano Ohana, relax and enjoy the native rainforest and sounds of the birds.

We thank you again for your kind words and we welcome you back to Ohana anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a chance to do a mini-vacation to Volcano. My friend told me about 5th Street Ohana and we thought we would give it a try.
We stayed at 5th Street Ohana and had the Sir Spencer 2 bedroom unit. We were very pleased. The Sir Spencer is more than I expected when reviewing the online photos.What a pleasant surprise getting away from Honolulu and spending time in the peace and quiet of Volcano.
Thank you for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of our 5th Street Ohana property. 5th Street Ohana is nestled on a beautiful lot surrounded by native plants, lush greenery, and many blooming flowers. The units are decorated nicely and have up-to-date appliances, making you feel at home. With essentially the rain forest as your neighbors and the comfort of home, 5th Street Ohana is a great place to be at peace.

Furthermore, we are glad we exceeded your expectations of 5th Street Ohana and will have to update our photos.

Mahalo nui loa and we look forward to seeing you at 5th Street Ohana soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in the Sir Spencer unit. It is a large 2 bedroom with comfortable king beds, a living room and fully equipped kitchen. Some breakfast food is provided. I appreciated the robe and we did use the heaters. You get use of the Jacuzzi at their sister property, Volcano Inn, which we didn't get around to use. Fresh towels were brought over after our second night. There are several people to contact with any questions. There are quite a number of movies and books to use during your stay, and my guys really enjoyed watching some of the movies at night. The washer/dryer was really convenient to have. Even though we removed our shoes outside, I wished there was a path out of the mud to walk on from the car to the house.
I would not hesitate to recommend 5th Street Ohana.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of our 5th Street Ohana property! We enjoyed having you stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Sir Spencer unit. We are working to fix our driveway so that our guests can walk to and from the car without encountering mud. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This B&B is about as small as they come. We stayed here because of what we read online. Da place only has two units from what we could see. The unit we stayed in was enormous for a studio. The studio unit had a large king bed, huge full kitchen, a little seating area with a TV and fireplace heater. The heater is one of those fake fireplaces that created a warm, cozy environment.
The Volcano area is lacking with places to eat. We had breakfast in every morning. For lunch we went to some of the local restaurants. For dinner one night we cooked in. The other night we picked up a pizza at the convenience store. It wasn't too bad considering.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dandaman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Mahalo for writing a review for our property. 5th Street Ohana, as you said, has two units. Queen Emma, the studio you stayed in, is very spacious and cozy. We find that the fireplace adds a nice aesthetic touch and keeps the place warm on cooler days.

Guests love that 5th Street Ohana provides some breakfast foods to help get you started in the morning. While we know Volcano Village has only a have few restaurants, we are always happy to recommend guests to particular restaurants.

Thanks again! The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at 5th Street Ohana and had a nice stay. The place is in a quiet neighborhood and when we were there it was as if the place belonged to us.
Our room was huge and very clean. It even had a full kitchen. We ate out for lunch and dinner during our stay. But, you could cook in if you so desire.
We did have rain for most of our stay, but that is to be expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarkHorse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmaspencerliving, Manager at 5th Street Ohana, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Mahalo for the kind review.

We appreciate you choosing us as your lodging facility during your time in Volcano Village. We welcome you to come back and stay at either of our Volcano Village properties during your next trip to the Big Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.5 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Street Ohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Street Ohana

Property: 5th Street Ohana
Address: 5th Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 5th Street Ohana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5th Street O’hana is a fusion of casual Hawaiian atmosphere with the quality and style of a secluded, small B&B. In Hawaiian, the word Ohana means family. 5th Street Ohana is a small house that brings family living to the new millennium with privacy, comfort and conveniences for today’s travelers.5th Street provides individual explorers and family escapades a comfortable accommodation close to the popular Volcano National Park. 5th Street has been labeled as “The Best Value” for families who want to explore the Big Island.On the Big Island of Hawaii, these Hawaii accommodations are less than a 10 minute drive from Volcanoes National Park. Free Wi-Fi is provided in all rooms.Surrounded by forests, guests enter each facility through a private entrance. Accommodations at 5th Street Ohana feature a flat-screen cable TV, iPod docking station, a full kitchen and a private bathroom. A dining area, sitting area and a view of the grounds are also provided in all accommodations.Under the open night sky, guests can view stars. Breakfast items are included for guests to prepare their own meals at Ohana 5th Street.Thomas A Jagger Museum and Hawaiian Volcano Observatory are within a 15 minute drive of 5th Street Ohana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 5th Street Ohana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5th Street Ohana Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing