We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect 25th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Teapot Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
1 review
“A Perfect 25th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We spent a lot of time trying to decide where to spend our 25th Wedding Anniversary and hit a home run when my wife and I chose to spent four nights at Antoinette and Bill Bullough's Volcano Teapot Cottage. From the moment we arrived at this beautiful cottage until we departed we were constantly suprised at the details and comforts provided by our hosts. To begin with the cottage is something of a cross between your grandmothers lake cottage and a a disney story cottage . Situated in a private beautiful rain forest, the grounds surrounding the cottage are filled with exotic tropical plants, tea plants, and the occasional teapot set making you feel safe yet like out in a real rainforest. We found it inspiring, just how the cottage fit in perfectly with the landscape with relaxing areas to sit and rest as well as inviting trails to adventure on (one leading to a pavilion with a private jacuzzi tub). With the beautiful front deck beconing us, we entered to find a room that was both comfortable and quaint. Inside were all the comforts of home as well as a gas heater to take away the evening chill (in front of the relaxing glow of a fire). Details like fresh cut flowers, theme decorations, antique teapots, and other trivets that fill the cottage made it seam like we were in a magical getaway. In addition the wide screen TV with DVD's about Volcano national park and tropical birds, and many books and magazines about the park, island history and attractions added to our knowledge of the area and enhanced our time adventuring to the areas around Volcano. We found the furniture inviting and comfortable and were suprised to find in the spare bedroom terry cloth robes and a towel warmer for out nightly adventures to the jaccuzi tub. The well equipped kitchen was stocked with fresh fruit and pastries every morning as well as jucies, milk, eggs, bottled water, portugese sausage, eggs and dozes of types of teas, and coffee. In the wash room were a washer, dryer, and coolers to take on day trips around the Island. We loved our stay, and will come bach again the Teapot is a perfect "10". We would highly recommend a stay at the Bullough's Volcano Teapot Cottage. Aloha!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJthePJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
228
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corte Madera, CA
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2009

If you want to see the Volcano or take a beautiful drive to a beach where lava flows into the sea, or to another beach with sea turtles, stay at the Teapot. On the other hand if you just want to relax into the Aloha spirit and not go anywhere else, stay at the Teapot. There is a neet hottub, the garden is gorgeous, and the cottage is wonderful: neet, clean, cute, and unpretentious. The master bedroom's bed is superbly comfy and the morning goodies to go with your many choices of tea are always yummy and unique. There are nice restaurants in Volcano's little village. The entrance to the Volcano Nat'l Park is less than a mile away, within which many wonderful hikes await.The hosts are a real nice couple too. Stay at the Teapot for a romantic cozy hawaiian experience. Aloha (o:

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiast325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

What makes the Volcano Teapot Cottage Bed and Breakfast even better than all the reviews is the wonderful personalities of Antoinette and Bill Bullough , the hard working friendly owners of this victorian cottage set in a absolutely beautiful garden with a lovely hot tub pavilion to go with it. The grounds, cottage, their amiable personalities and attention to every detail including more than you can eat sumptious breakfasts made it seem like we were in a lovely vacation movie. I also appreciated the privacy as there is only one beautiful cottage to enjoy. This stay in our 6 week vacation was definitely the best in the islands; and we had lovely accomidations throughout our trip. We definitely want to return as soon as we can to this idyllic place. I even joked with the owner Bill and told him we're going no further on the road of life because we found a piece of the Garden of Eden.

  • Liked — everything and their wonderful hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pianomanOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I can sum up this place up in two words. Stay here.

This is a fantastically cute cottage tucked away in sleepy Volcano's rain forest. We had three nights here and I wish we had stayed longer.

Bill is a wonderful host who had thought of all our questions and needs before we even realised we had them. We stayed here over New Year and there were many little Christmas trinkets dotted about the cottage which gave it a lovely homely feel. The delicious goodies provided for breakfast were enough for our lunch as well.

I would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a warm, relaxed place to return to after exploring the Volcano National Park just 10 minutes down the road.

This will be the first place I book on our next Hawaiian trip!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldTheSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2009

This delightful cottage has been lovingly decorated and furnished to provide a wonderful stay. It is completely private, totally quiet, and has a gorgeous yard and great hot tub. It's very convenient to the Volcano National Park, and there are several excellent restaurants nearby. The hosts are very accommodating, and provide delicious breakfasts and snacks for guests to eat on their own timetable.
A great place to stay when visiting the volcano!

  • Liked — Coziness, yard, privacy
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LindaRochesterMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We stayed here for four nights while we explored the Big Island. This is a wonderful little bungalow, very clean, in a charming jungle-like setting - with no bugs! I kept thinking the whole time - man, they've thought of everything. The fridge was full of different kinds of breakfast food and fruit so we could have what we wanted when we got up, one time a lovely breakfast appeared on the front porch. There's a hot tub up a cute little path in the woods, we used it twice a day because it was so nice. The bed was really comfortable. They even provide dvds of volcanos so you could learn about what you would see when you went up to the craters. I wanted to stay here another week!

  • Liked — The hosts were so thoughtful, they really thought of everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Teapot Cottage in Oct. 2008 for 2 nights. The owners have made this cottage a cozy, romantic place. Everything you could want was provided, including robes and flip-flops to wear to the outdoor covered hot tub. We took advantage of the laptop to catch up on our email, and watched one of the provided DVD's on the nice TV one rainy evening, while washing some clothes in the washer/dryer-even detergent was there! Breakfast foods were left in the fridge for us, and just as others have said, included a wide variety of choices, including Portuguese sausage, eggs, yogurt, bagels, pastries, and fresh fruit. There were many tea and coffee choices, and we enjoyed sampling them. The grounds were well kept, and very pretty. We had pheasants walk through the yard one morning. The only thing I would change is to have shades in the bedroom underneath the lace curtains, as we like our room dark to sleep. We wished that we could have stayed another day or two, but maybe we will be back some day.

  • Liked — The amazing private hot tub on the beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — No shades in the bedroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Teapot Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Teapot Cottage

Property: Volcano Teapot Cottage
Address: 19-4041 Kilauea Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Teapot Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Volcano Teapot Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Teapot Cottage Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing