We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Perfect Rainforest Treehouse”
other travelers have booked this property
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Relax and unwind in the wide open floor plan featuring all wood interior and 20 ft vaulted ceiling Enjoy the clear nights and dark skies far from city lights.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Relax and unwind in the wide open floor plan featuring all wood interior and 20 ft vaulted ceiling
Enjoy the clear nights and dark skies far from city lights.
Watch for birds by day and stargaze at night on our huge lanai.  See Kilauea's glow on clear nights!
Take in the rainforest views while you cook from our fully stocked and spacious kitchen
Sleep peacefully on our queen size master bed featuring memory foam mattress and hotel bedding
Relax on the oversized futon, which folds out to become a second queen size bed with spring mattress
Cozy up on the cool nights by our wood burning stove
There are many interesting plants to see on our property, especially the hapu'u ferns
Enjoy the beautiful views from the nearby beaches all within a short drive from our house
Revel in the the magnificent hawaiian sunsets
Take a trip to Kalapana to witness Pele's power and watch the Big Island grow
Make the short 10-15 min drive from our house to see KIlauea's spectacular glow at night
Kilauea is just as spectacular in the daytime
Drive to Punaluu Beach to relax in the sun with the turtles
Take Mauna Loa drive to the overlook to see Kilauea from up on high
Explore and enjoy the numerous waterfalls of the east side of the island
Catch a glimpse of snow on Mauna Kea!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kristen W
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect Rainforest Treehouse ”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Hale Hubner. Our travel plans got really messed up, but this oasis on the Volcano was the perfect place to forget about lost bags, broken cell phones, and other travel woes. It's minutes away from the park entrance, and so it's perfect for multiple trips to the cauldera. The wood burning stove was perfect for warming the house on chilly nights, and I had some of the most peaceful sleep of my life in the cozy queen bed with my own heated mattress pad. This was a great place to stay if you want to get out of the tourist areas, have some space to relax, read, sleep, look at the stars, and enjoy the volcano. The house was neat and tidy, rental was easy and exactly as promised, it was clean, and everything was easy to use. We did the Lava Ocean Adventure boat tour - expensive and uncomfortable but worth every penny and bounce on the waves. It was about an hour drive from the house. We also drove to South Point and jumped off the cliffs into the Pacific - amazing and crazy all at once. If we had it to do again, I'd stay a full week and try to do more excursions to other parts of the island. But, this was a wonderful first trip to the big island. Definitely eat at 'Ohelo Cafe while you are there. The food was fantastic, some of our favorite of the whole trip. We went twice :) There are beautiful photos up all over the cabin, and it's clear that Matt and Tara love Hawaii and want to share this opportunity with others. Make your reservation today - you will be so happy that you did!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dzinvikin...
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect place to unwind and explore”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Once you drive the one lane road to this lovely cottage, it's a perfect place to chillax and a great location to explore the Big Island. Minutes from Volvano National Park--we went there sometimes twice a day! Lots of hiking and things to see around the volcano. And the glow at night is incredible. Also close enough for a day trip for a whale watching tour in Kona, or to the southern coast to see sea turtles on the black sand beach.
The cottage itself is gorgeous with wood floors, lots of windows, full kitchen, tastefully decorated with touches of Hawaii. The bathroom is stocked with supplies, so if you forget your toothpaste you can probably find some there. The deck is a little weather-worn and the trees have grown so you can't see much, but it was too chilly during our stay to use it. The photos online are accurate except for that. Instructions for the wood burning stove, kitchen appliances, tv, etc are all conveniently set out for you.
Volcano Village is very charming and the people are friendly. We found a restaurant for take out sandwiches and some shops to poke around in. Don't miss 2400 Farenheight where you can watch local glass artists create amazing pieces. We got to love the one lane road leading to Hale Hubner cottage, to have a glass of wine in that beautiful setting and talk about our adventures that day. If we ever get back to the Big Island, we will definitely be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehuljari
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage...just loved it!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage in the middle of the volcano village. We arrived late from Kauai to Hilo airport and reached the cottage at around 10pm. Let me tell you and maybe warn you that the road towards the cottage especially after leaving volcano road is creepy and spooky at night (at least for me and my wife). The GPS worked prefect and to make the things better we had a detailed map provided by the owner.

Reaching the rental at night was a bit spooky but we had not much difficulty n opening the locks. The house is a level above the ground surrounded by large fern trees. Its Gorgeous!! and I mean it. And i can say that its the best rental I have ever stayed in.

Full equipped with awesome internet, iPad to use, great futon, very comfortable mattress, clean bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. The barbecue worked just perfect. The small intricate details by Huber family makes it even more special. He has a full kit of medicinal (basic) supplies. Very thoughtful of the owner to practically provide everything. I was happy to needle Mumbai on his list of maps (his visitor list).

It is just few miles from Jagger museum. I would say it was the best way to spend our second marriage anniversary.

Thank you Tara and Matt...

Will look forward to staying with you in future if we plan big island again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Small intricate details and cleanliness
Liked least: curtains on large windows could have made us feel more secure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSS_BJI
Bemidji, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cozy, Comfy Couple’s Cottage”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Hale Hubner is a cozy, comfortable cottage for couples that’s hidden in the lush upland rainforest of Volcano village just a couple of minutes from HVNP. My wife & I spent 8 peaceful nights enjoying the privacy & all the amenities of this self-sufficient home. We love hiking & exploring in the national park, & on our 4th trip to the area, we were looking to economize a bit in order to extend our visit. This value-oriented rental seemed a little too good to be true, but proved simply lovely. The online descriptions are accurate, & the positive reviews are justified.

It’s located on a one-lane road in a residential area that’s very quiet. Aside from an occasional dog or car passing by, we heard only song birds, roosters, & frogs. The lush vegetation ensured virtual privacy from neighbors. The village can get nippy at night in February, but the electric heater in the bedroom & the extra blankets helped warm us. The interior of the small cottage is attractive, & the open ceiling design gives a sense of spaciousness. Given the layout & actual size, the rental is best suited for a couple or a small family. The walled-off bedroom provides privacy, but noise will travel. The futon couch in the main room is very comfortable, & when one of us wanted to stay up late reading or get up early to make coffee, we could do so while the other still slept. We really enjoy the local fruit & produce & fish, & the fully equipped kitchen let us prepare our meals with ease. And when we felt the need to check in with home, we appreciated the excellent Wi-Fi. We hope to be able to escape the cold Minnesota winter again next year and return!

Tips:
- Carry a printed copy of the excellent directions when you first arrive. If after dark, have a flashlight to help navigate the gate that first time. After then, you’ll be fine.
- Volcano offers several nice places to eat. Our favorite is the Tuk-Tuk Thai Food Truck parked in the Cooper Center (a local park). It serves excellent, genuine Thai meals at a great price. Bring take-out back to the cottage to enjoy on the lanai with some wine after a day’s hiking.
- If you’re staying more than a night or 2, stock up on food & sundries in Hilo first. For basics at good Hawai’i prices, try the KTA Super Store just south of the airport on HI-11. It has a great meat & seafood counter with selections of local-caught fresh fish (we ate Ahi tuna all week!); their wine department is nice.
- The Hilo Farmers’ Market is wonderful! Open daily, it has expanded offerings on Wednesdays. Within easy walking distance is the friendly Locavore Store; it offers additional local origin fruit, produce, coffee, cheese, gifts, etc. Also nearby is Papa’a Palaoa Bakery with its bread & many treats: scones, breakfast cakes, quiche, cookies.
- Volcano village has a nice Farmers’ Market of its own at the Cooper Center on Sunday AM. It’s popular, so go early for the best selection.
- The owners provide MUCH useful information about the cottage & surrounding area. Be sure to read it.
- At 4k’ elevation, Volcano can drop into the 40s at night in winter. Bring something comfortably warm to wear on early mornings.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teacher00...
Altoona, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay when visiting Volcanoes National Park”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family (my husband and two children) found the Hale Hubner house to be very spacious, secluded, and nicely appointed. We loved our stay and would definitley stay her again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You were in the rainforest, but near Volcanoes National Park.
Liked least: A little hard to find, but not a big deal.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganghook4...
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet, cosy rainforest retreat”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

While the access road can be daunting in the wet or dark, the trip is worth it. This cosy cottage surrounded by tree ferns is home away from home comfortable. The owners have made great efforts to provde for everything, special touches such as binoculars, free WiFi, DVDs and clear instructions made our stay relaxing.
The set up is bush cabin style with separating walls for the bed and bath rooms. The nights are chilly so the log fire and bedroom heater were appreciated. We also made good use of the provided umbrellas as we encountered a few wet days.
The fully equiped kitchen was also a bonus as the village is not within walking distabce, especially at night.
Booking process and information from the owner was efficiently handled and expeditious

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, rainforest setting
Liked least: Narrow, potholed, dark roadways at night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stl_locav...
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Gem in Volcano!”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We ended our 2 week vacation to Hawaii by staying at this house. From the start, Matt was informative and offered the BEST communication I've ever had from an owner. We rent often, so this is saying a lot. I really liked the GLAD app info and the reminder emails I received when staying at the house. I didn't have any questions!

LOCATION: You must drive on a one-lane road through a dense forest... no street lights. It's an adventure getting to the house that first time. But, it becomes easier so don't worry. In a lot of ways, it reminded me of camping (which we do often in a tent or our trailer in the mountains here in NY). You will see wildlife, stars, and plenty of greenery.

HOUSE: The interior is rustic, but has modern conveniences. They have lots of movies (we watched Free Willy with our son), including the whole STAR WARS set!! I cooked dinner here both nights and found everything I needed. I appreciated the spices, oils and ketchup. We left an unopened ice cream. Hopefully someone enjoyed it after us! The futon and bed are both very comfy, and I loved keeping the window cracked at night so we could enjoy the fresh, cool air. It was so refreshing after our HOT 5 days in Kona.

WILDLIFE: You will see roosters and pheasants on the road. You will hear dogs barking (maybe there's a kennel nearby???) and cows mooing (behind the property). I think the moon was full during our stay because the flipping roosters would crow at 3am!). This may affect light sleepers.

TIPS:
-Go to the Jagger Museum EVERY NIGHT! The 2nd night we went later and found it less crowded than the sunset hour. Bring a flashlight!
-Buy meat in Hilo or groceries even, the Volcano General Stores only have bare minimums and canned/packaged items.
-Go to the Volcano Winery! We went for an hour (for tasting and a cheese plate) right before they closed. The owner is amazingly nice and informative. They have won many Finger Lake, NY awards (where we are from), and she's from Jersey. Try the tea infused wine- it's so unusual. They boxed us up a case of wine to take on the plane.
-Stay at least 2 nights! I wish we had stayed 3 nights so we could have had more time to check out the Hilo sights.
-If you are going to Kona afterward, stop at the Punaluu bakery to get lunch (and malasadas for the next day breakfast); then back track to the black sand beach for lunch at the beach. We saw 6 turtles and my son found sea glass.

We highly recommend this rental and the area!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing