We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This place was great. Good location and very comfortable.

The hosts made sure you had everything you needed and the beds were incredibly comfortable.

Roberts cooks an awesome breakfast for everyone staying at the B&B.

Really enjoyed our two nights here in volcano.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Owner at Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

It's great to see another solid review, from another satisfied customer. Mahalo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 387 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was my first time staying in a b&b hotel, and I was really amazed by the considerate service and the rooms offered by the host!! The breakfast was great with tropical fruits. Sweet papaya, banana and with a little bit sour lemon juice is really a good combination that I learned from the breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCiCiCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Manager at Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We are always sad to see our guests depart! The only consolation is hearing that you are already planning your next trip to visit with us here at the Aloha Junction BnBi, the highest compliment you could possibly pay us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is ever anything we can do to assist you in the future. See you next trip!

With warmest aloha's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I do not typically stay in Bed and Breakfast type of rentals. We are very frugal and typically stay in chain hotels for a low price. That being said, we chose the Aloha Junction based on the location to the Volcano park. I found the property was warm and inviting. Considering the cost and location, I definitely thought that I received a great value. The linens were clean. I was told to use "everything and anything" that I wanted. I made popcorn, used the bowls from the kitchen, bought items from Wal-mart in Hilo and had full use of the refrigerator. I treated it like home. The host walked in on me and my wife eating olives and cheese (with some popcorn) in the kitchen (afternoon timeframe) and seemed pleased that we were enjoying the house.

The host seems to be very quiet at times, and very set on giving the guests a good value and a pleasant stay. I must say that the breakfast was one of the best parts of my trip to the Big Island. The host isn't the most friendly and out-going person, but he was professional and kind. When we told him that we were going star gazing on the big mountain, he supplied us with flashlights and jackets and gave us some advice.

I have read some reviews regarding the breakfast table and sensitive subjects being discussed. That really surprises me, because most travelers are very conscious about how different people can be of different places and cultures. I'm not sure why some guests wish to argue with other guests (or the host.) It is part of the B&B experience to have breakfast and discuss topics of the day, personal background stories, how people met, and other non-offensive things. There was a family from Israel there when we visited, and it was very interesting to hear what they thought of the US and our political system. They said good things and bad things, and I never heard anyone spouting propaganda. Perhaps some reviewers are very sensitive about their beliefs and not open to hearing other viewpoints or other cultures.

Anyway, I would definitely return. I would give a five rating, but as others have said, the house is quite dated and the mattress in my bedroom could use an update. The age and appearance of the house is part of what gives it charm, but a bit more sleep comfort would make it 5-star.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 568MarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Owner at Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

We appreciate your comments more than words can say...and thank you for your worldly view of differing views from people of different sorts of life.
We'll be getting a new bed...with the hope that you come back again!
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was very large, the bed was comfortable, and breakfast was excellent - tropical fruit, orange juice, pancakes, sausage, coffee, tea, and ready early so we could get an early start on our hike. The grounds were isolated and very quiet.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linnea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Owner at Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a favorable response. We appreciaated you choosing us and look forward to welcoming you back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Quiet, clean, and great breakfast. Our 10th visit to the Big Island, our 5th time staying up in the Volcano area and our first time at Aloha Junction. We had the 2 room suite which is very comfortable for a family. Bathroom is adequate but small. Private deck looks over a very lush landscaped property. Robert (in addition to fixing breakfast) took a lot of time to explain the history of the house, the wood in the table and other furniture, and a tour around the property. This was especially nice because we share similar plants in Florida. Great Aloha experience and would definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Owner at Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It meant a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This place is run by an inhospitable Tea Party fundamentalist. Very weird vibe at this B&B. Inhospitable environment upon arrival. Very Cheap tea and coffee available. Bookcase reading includes Glenn Beck, Sarah Palin, and Norman Vincent Peale Guidepost leaflets. No friendly greeting. No aloha spirit at breakfast, which I skipped. Like another reviewer of Aloha Junction B&B, I chose to spend as little time as possible at the house & stay in my room rather than the living quarters. Felt like a rip off, with no Aloha spirit & open Tea Party, etc. propaganda available to guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sfsbice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan H, Owner at Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

ALoha and thank you for your insights. We are sorry you didn't have a good time and rushed off before getting a chance to have breakfast with the other guests. Part of the fun in traveling and staying at bed and breakfasts is opening up to other points of view and meeting new people. THe vast majority of our guests do take pleasure in meeting other people, participating in conversations and of course enjoying our generous, tropical breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and appreciated a comfortable bed. Robert showed us jackets, flashlights, etc we were free to use and for the uninitiated the temperature is surprisingly cold at night. The breakfast was enough to keep us going for hours. Received great tips from Robert and others staying in the house. Spacious room, only one let down - not a very good water pressure in the shower, but wouldn't let that stop us from staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat_pren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19-4037 Olapalapa Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $141 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloha Junction B&B is located in Volcano Village just behind the Post Office noted for proximity to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 1 mile away and restaurants in town. Guests also enjoy the 1930's old plantation structure providing five spaciousness rooms and electric blankets for those chilly nights in the rainforest. In addition free parking and well attended-to children are welcome. Each room has it's own coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave but best of all are Robert's breakfasts. One of his specialties are the Papaya-banana boats with macadamia-nut pancakes. After spending time in this "Drive-in" style National Park, most people want to include some evening time to walk out to the overlook of Halemaumau Crater ~ which convinces even the strongest skeptics that Kilauea is an active volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Junction Hotel Volcano
Aloha Junction b&b
Aloha Junction Bed And Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing