We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Volcano location & plentiful breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Volcano location & plentiful breakfast”
Reviewed October 16, 2007

This B&B is perfectly situated about a 3-minute drive from the entrance to Volcano Nat'l Park. Robert is an excellent host, and provided great information as well as panchos, flashlights, etc. for exploring the volcano.

I booked the room directly on the hotel's website. It's easy to check availability, and they allow cancellations up until 14 days prior to your stay with no penalty.

My wife and I stayed in the Garden Suite. It was nice having cable tv and wireless internet in the room. A printer was also available in the house which we found useful for printing directions to our hotel on the other side of the island. Breakfast was amazing, with delicious fruit, eggs, toast, sausage, hash browns, and more.

The bed was extremely comfortable, although with no central heating the room was somewhat chilly at night even in September. The walls are thin, so it was a little annoying when the people in the room next to us had their TV volume up high. But these were minor inconveniences, and I'd be more than willing to stay here again.

  • Liked — Proximity to Volcano National Park
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    130
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
115
177
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We stayed there for 3 nights in August 2007 in the Heritage room (approx. 100$ incl. tax per night). The room has a queen bed and a small private bathroom and shower. Breakfast is served at 8am every morning.

The only downside was that the walls in the house are quite thin and - as the Heritage room is next to the living room - it can get loud in the evening and early morning, especially when families with children are staying in one of the other rooms.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kugelblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

We arrived before check-in time, but Robert was wonderful & showed us to our room and gave us some advise on what dining was available in the area. We stayed in the Garden Room, which has a lovely lanai overlooking the back yard. The grounds were very lush and the sound of the birds singing in the trees very relaxing. We enjoyed a full day of hiking at the Volcano and returned late to our room. We had let Robert know we would be leaving at 6:30 am to catch our flight so we wouldn't be around for breakfast in the morning. What a pleasant surpise to wake up & find he had fresh fruit, hot coffee & waffles waiting for us. Next time we will definitely stay longer!

  • Liked — The comfy beds!
  • Disliked — We didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank infineon2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2007

We stayed 3 nights in the Garden room (24th-27th January 2007). Robert (proprietor) provided every comfort you would excpect including a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit and homemade cooked pancakes, french toast, hash browns etc.. If you want a place to stay that means sharing the breakfast table with other guests then Aloha Junction is the place. We were lucky in meeting really friendly people from California and Washington, but of course this can hit and miss in any B&B.
Volcano village is quiet and the restaurants close at 9.00pm, but a large lounge room with an equally large TV were available along with a selectionof DVD's, otherwise our room was equiped with a TV and DVD player.
We liked the fact that once you arrive you are given a key and gate opener so you could come and go as you please. There was no daily room service which we found a little surprising but for 3 nights the only thing we had to do was make up the beds ourselves. The cupboards were full of fresh clean towels and the bins were emptied every day.
If we ever return to the Big Island we will stay here again. The sky at night is a wonder to behold. We were extremely lucky in having unbroken sunshine for the whole of our stay and our step out terrace and easy chairs were the pefect place for us to look at the stars and be at one with nature and the resident geese!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No daily room cleaning
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Twisterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We stayed in the Alpine room.

It is good, now that it has a bathroom added. The bathroom
is small but adequate.

There is a kitchenette (microwave + fridge + sink) in the room
too. It was a little weird that the bathroom does not have a sink,
so one has to use the kitchenette sink to brush one's teeth,
shave, etc. I really like to keep the two sinks separate
for hygienic reasons (and the way I was conditioned growing up).
I mention this specifically for others who might be weirded out
by this as well.

Other than that, the room was great. Many before have
commented about room odor, so I feel I should write about it
too. There was some odor in the room, but it was
rather like air freshener or something put in to mask the
mildew odor. The real mildew odor was inside the closets.
I must say that it was a very mild odor and did not bother us.

Other conveniences (like flashlights, ponchos, etc.) are nice, and
definitely useful. Breakfast is great.

The photos on their web site are old, and don't do justice to
the place. There has been much renovation / upgrade and
the house looks much better when you are there.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

This is a wonderful place to stay when visiting the Volcano. Rooms are great and breakfast was wonderful. The free internet and printing facilities come in handy too and there are tons of supplies to use like flashlights, hiking boots, etc available at the house for those trips to Volcano National Park. For the price, I'd highly endorse this place.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

In general, a very good option. Our room (Garden Suite) was spacious, although it did have a slight mildewy odor as others have mentioned. Breakfast was hearty and of good quality. Location is great for the park. The availability of flashlights, gloves, hiking boots and (fortunately not needed) first aid kits for lava walkers was a bonus. In-room toaster, coffee maker, fridge were also nice.

Some previous comments on Robert made it sound he was not very interactive with guests. He was not in "in your face", but once he was engaged in conversation, he was quite talkative and informative.

  • Liked — Great location and amenities
  • Disliked — Mildew odor
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DGKalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19-4037 Olapalapa Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloha Junction B&B is located in Volcano Village just behind the Post Office noted for proximity to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 1 mile away and restaurants in town. Guests also enjoy the 1930's old plantation structure providing five spaciousness rooms and electric blankets for those chilly nights in the rainforest. In addition free parking and well attended-to children are welcome. Each room has it's own coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave but best of all are Robert's breakfasts. One of his specialties are the Papaya-banana boats with macadamia-nut pancakes. After spending time in this "Drive-in" style National Park, most people want to include some evening time to walk out to the overlook of Halemaumau Crater ~ which convinces even the strongest skeptics that Kilauea is an active volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Junction Hotel Volcano
Aloha Junction b&b
Aloha Junction Bed And Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing