We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hale Iki is amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in the Hale Iki, which is the coolest little cottage that Joan from the Country Goose manages. It was exactly what we wanted and loved our time there.

That being said, there were a few cob webs in the corners and there wasn't enough hot water to fill up the giant bath tub. The bedding could also stand to be updated. Breakfast is also included, which is a nice touch, but it is at Joan's house and you do have to drive to get there. It would have been nice to have the option of a breakfast basket or something delivered to the cottage.

We enjoyed talking with Joan and seeing the other side to Country Goose, she is a lovely hostess however I don't think the rest of Country Goose's accommodation is quite our style.

We did love the Hale Iki though, and if you're looking for a rustic, romantic getaway in the rainforest, this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maitai008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was beyond my expectations and so was the hospitality that we were greeted with.. Jane has lots of aloha to share! The fern forest was such an amazing get away-you can listen and tune into the wildlife and get lost in the experience. The fireplace was an awe sum addition as the nites get chilly here and nothing like cuddling by a fire. Didn't get to use the tub tho..only unwelcoming thing due to spiders in the tub but thats expected in nature.. All in all this place has it all if u want to retreat into the woods and breathe in the beauty of a simple peaceful and quiet fern forest!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Very detailed and well thought out living, charming, beautiful, senses are stimulated with the rainforest setting, landscaping, birds. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with heavenly waffles with berries and fresh whipped cream, fresh fruit, and very good coffee. Hostess, Joan, made you feel comfortable, good conversation, and great sense of humor. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloryP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Hale Iki, the Little House, that is run by Joan of the Country Goose and let me tell you, the 3 nights we stayed were the highlight of our trip. The cottage is absolutely incredible - from the hidden driveway, the path that leads you into the rainforest, and then this beautiful house appearing out of the trees and ferns. The house is perfect - we were there in June and had rain one night while we were there and had no problems with dampness or anything like that. The house is perfectly set up for a couple on a romantic vacation - fireplace for the chilly nights (we used it once while were there, and it was late-June!), mini-fridge, stove and oven, 2-person tub, windows all over that look out into the forest, wrap around porch, even a washer & dryer so you don't have to go home with so many dirty clothes from vacation! We arrived late on our first night, and Joan had given me the perfect directions to follow (which was great, because it was so dark out) and had our keys waiting on our bullentin board for us with drawn out directions on how to get to this hidden gem. Recommendation: If you can schedule it to get there during the light hours, do it, it is very dark throughout this entire area and makes it difficult to find your way to a new place (plus, comfort levels). We enjoyed breakfast with Joan (and her grandson and his children) at her house, which is located just about a mile away, before heading off to the HVNP for hiking and exploring. This is an awesome place to stay and we can't wait to return!! Thank you Joan and family for a memorable and wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the Pukeawe Cottage for three days and loved it. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed (see separate Trip Advisor Pukeawe Cottage page for detailed reviews). It was nice to take a break from the heat at the lower elevations.

Joan provided the best breakfast, especially appreciated by our two boys ages 12 and 14. Depending on the day we either had waffles, pancakes, or French toast with handmade whipped cream and syrup, plus scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit and coffee. Definitely didn't go hungry.

Joan was a great host and provided some good advice on things to do in the area (hikes and drives within the park). It was nice to hear her perspective on the goings on around the island.

Room Tip: This B&B is really a collection of nearby vacation homes, and Joan provides breakfast at her hou...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greglena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Firstly a word of warning - if you go to Volcano expecting wall-to-wall sunshine think again. This place is 3,500 feet above sea level in the tropics. The B&B is great though and surrounded by lush foliage. Room was comfortable, adequate and peaceful. Breakfast time with Joan is great - lovely home cooked food and interesting conversation with Joan and other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. It was our first stop. Room was nice and bed really comfortable. Loved the feeling of being in a rainforest. Slept with windows open to hear all the critters outside. Joan's breakfasts were absolutely fantastic! Her waffles and french toast are to die for! By far the best breakfasts in our entire 2 weeks. We are more b & b type of people than resort, so this place was perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
707 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#9 of 32 in Volcano
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Goose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Goose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 113870 Ruby Avenue, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Goose Bed and Breakfast and Rental Homes is the premier destination spot on the Big Island of Hawaii. Relax and let Joan take care of everything including an amazing breakfast including Kona coffees and all the best traditional Hawaii foods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing