We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. It was our first stop. Room was nice and bed really comfortable. Loved the feeling of being in a rainforest. Slept with windows open to hear all the critters outside. Joan's breakfasts were absolutely fantastic! Her waffles and french toast are to die for! By far the best breakfasts in our entire 2 weeks. We are more b & b type of people than resort, so this place was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    37
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent two nights in the Hale Iki last week. It is rustic and private and really does sit in the center of the rain forest. Humidity is an issue, particularly if unit is not used regularly. The dehumidifier had been running and was full. We kept it running while we were gone but did not find the moisture a problem. There is a wood burning stove which we used ( dry kindling would be nice as fire was challenging to get started). Small but adequate kitchen and a loft bedroom. If you cant handle tight stairs dont rent this unit.
Breakfast was at "Joan's", about a mile or so away. She is a very nice and knowledgeable lady who does her best to make people comfortable. Her breakfasts are served as early as 7am which is nice for an early start. They are comfort food and were a perfect start to our active days.
This is not a luxury experience and if you set your expectations too high you will be disappointed. However, we had a very enjoyable experience and take away fond memories.
As an aside, we had a great evening hike with Volcano Discovery Tours which provided viewing of the lava flow into the sea as well as surface flows. See my review if interested. Also did the Kilauea Iki Trail hike which is a good 2-3 hour hike. I like to tell folks that we are in our 60s and while both activities are challenging, they are doable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
206 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in the B&B and it is the type of experience we used to find years ago before B&B in the US became synonymous with luxury. We were shown to a bedroom in someone's home. It's rather like staying with a relative, but with the privacy of a separate entrance and bath. The furnishings were adequate (photos accurate), though the room was rather full. The bathroom was adequate. I would suggest heavier curtains on the windows. It just felt too exposed with the blinds and sheers. Not much light there, though.

A full breakfast shared with guests from the various houses/cottages along with the hosts. This type of B&B is not for people wanting privacy. The spread was generous and good--sausage, eggs, waffles, fruit. We ate twice as much as we usually would for breakfast.

Neighborhood is dark, so plan to arrive during daylight or drive slowly and follow directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night at the Country Goose B&B rental house "Hale Iki".

It was the worst night I have ever spent at a vacation. On pictures the house looks cosy and romantic, but in reality it was far from.

When we arrived (after having trouble finding the place and Joan not really being of any help with that) it was clear that the house had a prblem with dampness. There was a dehumifier meant for taking away damp standing in the house. This was unfortunately not turned on, which meant that the house seemed musty and damp, and we had to have the dehumifier running the whole time we were there. As it made a constant noise that was stressing in itself and also the fact, that Joan had not considered turning it on in advance, so that the house would be just a little less musty on our arrival, gave us a feeling that customer service was not really a priority here.

On top of that the house looked liked it had only had some shallow cleaning done, since there was filthy in all the corners and the upstairs was just generally in a less clean condition.

Instead of romantic holiday, you had more a feel of run down boy scout camp.

Originally we had booked a three nights stay, but due to the dirt and the damp, we had to leave after just one night.

I am sure you can find nicer places to stay in volcano village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Violuschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Pukeawe Cottage for 4 nights. It was clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. My family had such a nice time. Breakfast with Joan was always a treat! She is such a nice lady and good cook! You don't always find breakfast included, and this makes staying here a bonus! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We totally 6 persons have stayed in one of cottage " Pukeawe place" in big island for two nights. we did have a wonderful experience here - nice and clear bed, thoughtful details and interesting BBQ. what give us the most impressive is hostess's breakfast - abundant and declicious !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We flew into Kona and started our vacation on the island staying for our first two nights at the Country Goose Bed and Breakfast before heading up to Waikoloa for the remaining 6 nights. The house we stayed in was clean and the beds were super comfy. Yes it rained, but that was part of the charm. But the best part...Joan was so welcoming to me and my family. She welcomed us with big hugs and smiles and served us fantastic breakfasts both mornings. We felt right at home with her and enjoyed meeting her grandson, Spirit on the first morning. The location is perfect, close to the national park and we spent a great full day hiking and seeing the sights. Thank you Joan...we've already referrred a couple of friends your way!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rltraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Goose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Goose Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Address: 113870 Ruby Avenue, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Goose Bed and Breakfast and Rental Homes is the premier destination spot on the Big Island of Hawaii. Relax and let Joan take care of everything including an amazing breakfast including Kona coffees and all the best traditional Hawaii foods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing