We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great return visit - 2nd time in the King room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Goose Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great return visit - 2nd time in the King room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Thank you Joan for another very pleasant stay! This was our second time in the King room and we found it just as cozy, warm and spotlessly clean as the last time. Although it was quite cold and damp last week when we visited, our room was perfectly warm. The King room has its own parking space in front of the door and we snuck out for a midnight visit to the the Jaggar Museum overlook to see the superb lava glow from the caldera. Breakfast next morning was a sliced apple banana, half a fresh papaya, fresh-made Belgian waffles from her waffle maker, strawberries, whipped cream and syrup - yum! The table conversation was fascinating, as geologists from Alaska joined us for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Free-to-wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    37
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our 4th stay at Country Goose was as wonderful as all the stays before. It was our second time in the beautiful Pukeawe Cottage. The cottage is very well equipped. We did not miss anything. Beside others we enjoyed especially the lovely Christmas decoration, the wood stove and the bird feeding place.
One of the main reasons for our recurring decisions to book a room or a cottage at Country Goose is Joan, who runs the Country Goose. She serves a delicious breakfast. We enjoyed the daily conversation during the breakfast and appreciated the many suggestions we got from her.
The Country Goose and the rented cottages are located in the direct neighborhood to the Volcanoes National Park and are a perfect location to explore the park. You don't have to drive many miles before reaching the park – you are already almost there. Our main activity during the 7 days stay was hiking inside or near the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed in one of the B&B cottages for two nights. We loved the location near the volcano, the cottage had everything we could ask for, and Joan's breakfast was just fantastic :)
We will definitely be back ... hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnetteLindAstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

After spending four nights as Joan's guest in her "King Room" my partner and I agree, it was not for us.

If you enjoy cozy, lots of varied textiles and clutter, a host that sits down with you at breakfast and regales you each morning with more anecdotes of her life, microwaved "gourmet" waffles, sausages, etc. from Costco, then this is your kind of place.

Other guests seemed happy, complimented her breakfasts, so maybe it was just us.

If we return to the Big Island again, we will stay in Hilo. The volcano is close enough, as are all the other Hilo area attractions.

Were we happy with our stay: It was just OK
Would we return to Country Goose B&B: No
Would we recommend this B&B to a friend: No

Room Tip: No pool or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marsha100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanE130, Owner at Country Goose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Marsha , I'm sorry and dissapointed it was upleasing and you were not happy with your stay. I wish you would have brought it to attention instead of holding it in then later make me and my buisness out to be somthing horrible?

I always go out of my way to please my guest, family and 20 yr + returning guest, and would have done anything to make your stay better if you asked or mentioned it.

Tip - If the King room was too cluttered then next B&B you stay you should book a large vacation house so you will have more room, and not be un-happy in a in-house guest room.

Alot of guest like conversating and sharing life stories it's what a real B&B is about. Sounds like you are not a B&B person.

Breakfast is one of a kind and made with love to be loved and enjoyed by many for over 20 yrs and seems to me you are imagining things because i never would microwave waffles never, i do warm up eggs and sausages for 20-30 seconds if it's cooled down. Do you know something I don't know about costco, is it bad?

Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at nearly all the rental homes managed by Joan at the Country Goose in Volcano Village. My last stay in October 2012 was just an overnight while visiting Volcano National Park with visitors from California. As usual, I was wowed by the incredible tree ferns and abundant vegetation that provides landscaping for these charming 1-4 bedroom homes and of course visiting wonderful Volcano National Park. This trip I stayed at the Pukeawe Cottage, managed by Joan at Country Goose, which is a 2 bedroom home with loft. The home is appointed with lots of charming decorations and furniture and a toasty fireplace. The homes are immaculately kept and cleaned and feel like home away from home. This is not a big city Hilton lacking personality or warmth. This is a cozy and personal retreat for those that appreciate such charm. But let me not forget the wonderful breakfast that Joan provides all her guests. The delight of sitting at one of the lovely tables with guests from around the world, chatting about things to do and places they have been and adventures they have encountered is at least half the fun! The breakfast itself is quite a treat too. Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, and wonderful coffee with real whipping cream will treat the gourmet hounds in your party. And after your stay you are left with the impression that you didn't just visit a marvelous new National Park but also made a new friend with the delightful proprietor Joan. I could go on, but that about covers it. Mahalo Joan.

Room Tip: Pukeawe Cottage one of numerous great homes Joan manages at the Country Goose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the first of what I hope to be many many stays at the Hale Iki! The setting was perfect for us...singing birds, frogs, crickets and gentle rain drops. Bird watching from our porch and even from the couch inside was thrilling! We enjoyed everything about our stay except that it didn't seem long enough! Joan in a fantastic chef and an exceptional hostess. We enjoyed our breakfast and her company, she made us feel like were family. If you like adventure, natures' beauty, an off the beaten path break from the norm THIS is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesnMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Volcano Cottage a few weeks ago. The house was spacious, clean and had all the comforts of home, including a comfortable bed. The house was about 1 mile from the Volcanoes National Park, so it was convenient for trips to the park. Joan was very friendly and was always prepared with a huge breakfast for us each morning. We enjoyed meeting other guests staying at her properties over breakfast. Joan is a good resource for information on the park as she has "hiked all of it". We would definitely stay at the Country Goose again. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#12 of 31 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Goose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Goose Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Address: 113870 Ruby Avenue, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Goose Bed and Breakfast and Rental Homes is the premier destination spot on the Big Island of Hawaii. Relax and let Joan take care of everything including an amazing breakfast including Kona coffees and all the best traditional Hawaii foods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing