We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and so comfortable!”
other travelers have booked this property
Pukeawe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pukeawe Cottage
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Pukeawe Cottage
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room--cozy wood burning stove
Dining Room
Kitchen
Laundry Room
downstairs bathroom with tub/shower
twin bedroom
Downstairs twin bedroom--roll top desk
Downstairs Bedroom #2--Queen
queen bedroom
Master suite king bed
Master suite sitting area
Master suite
Upstairs master bath with tub/shower
kitchen porch
Sun deck
Side yard patio
Meditation garden
Bamboo
Bird Haven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CarolKana...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and so comfortable!”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

You couldn't ask for more. Next time we're staying longer!! Peaceful and quiet with the birds to wake us in the morning. We slept so well. The cottage has everything you need and more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that we met or exceeded your expectations. We hope you come again.
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place, these owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The inside is so very clean and the outside is just as spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Thank you for your review of our property. Always nice to know that our guests appreciate our efforts. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We found this nice cottage very clean and very well equiped with nice appliances. We needed something... we found it. The proximity to the Volcano National Park made it very convenient to explore the area. The large and very well kept grounds invite you to explore, watch the birds and relax. We would recommend this cottage to our friends.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your time at our house. Please come again.
Margaret Pierce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H
Hobart
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfect Sanctuary”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I can not say enough good things about this cottage. It was absolutely perfect and I wish I could rate it higher than a 5 because it is possibly the best place we have ever stayed.

I found this cottage on TripAdvisor and read the reviews and instantly knew I wanted to give it a try. I was a bit worried about trying to book a private residence but dealing with Margaret the owner was really easy and she responded quickly to all queries and there were no issues at all and she explained the process and everying worked just the way she explained.

Before arriving at the cottage you are sent instructions on where and how to get in and these are very easy to follow.

The cottage itself is really a very upmarket house rather than cottage and is absolutely beautiful and charming, and just so relaxing. We had just spent many days in hustling resorts and so this felt like home. This place was better than the resorts and sooo much cheaper.

The cottage had three bedrooms, two downstairs and one up stairs. There is a queen upstairs and a single and queen downstairs. The beds are super comfortable, the single being softer and the queens firmer. Each room has somewhere to sit as well. There are no tvs in bedrooms. There are two full bathrooms one up and one down. Both have bath with shower over, toilet and sink. Both are so lovely and soap, shampoo and lots of other things supplied.

There is a huge lounge with comfortable sofa, a bit soft for me but husband loved it, and also rocking chair and comfortable chair. Large tv with DVD player, and soooo many dvds to watch. The tv gets a large number of channels, including Disney on thirty three.

The kitchen is state of the art, way better than mine at home and has everything. For Australians it has a kettle not just a coffee machine, heaven for a quick cuppa. All basics for cooking are supplied. There is also a super modern laundry with washer and dryer.

There are extensive parklands for gardens full of birds and they supply birdseed. We saw this absolutely beautiful full yellow bird along with pheasants and tons of other native birds.

The house is approximately forty minute drive from Hilo, but it's a straightish road out of town and directions are easy. Buy supply's in Hilo before heading out of town as no shops near cottage. There is a huge Walmart on the road heading out of town so an easy stop on way. It is only a five minute drive from the volcano national park making it easy to go back for a look at the night glow. Probably the only downside is this is all it is close to and it is a long drive to see anything else but we made a day trip of driving off to see rainbow falls. Akaka falls and then waipio lookout we left around nine and were back just before four.

I can not recommend this place highly enough, it totally deserves its perfect rating. If we ever come back to Hawaii island we would definitely stay there again. Sometimes you worry that with such good ratings it is all people who know the owners, i come from Hobart Tasmania and this was my first trip to Hawaii. I loved it and so did my husband and my nine year old did not want to leave.

A huge thank you to the owners for creating such a perfect sanctuary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, facilities and peace
Liked least: Distance to town
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you do come back.
One correction I would like to point out to anyone reading your review is that the bed upstairs in the master suite is a king bed not a queen.
We will continue to try to make the house a pleasant experience for all who choose to stay.
Warm Regards,
Margaret Pierce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancysWor...
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this cottage. A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Six family members - ages from 68 to 12 - stayed at this lovely cottage for a week. The cottage has everything you could want. It was very pleasant. The furnishings are comfortable, and we had plenty of space for all six of us. WiFi is fast. The yard is beautiful. You have complete privacy from neighbors. We couldn't have been happier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I felt like we were at home
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thank you for your nice review. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your time at Pukeawe Cottage and hope you return for another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmp1213
Salinas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in Volcano!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a wonderful time at this lovely home in Volcano! This was my 2nd stay at Pukeawe Cottage and both visits were perfect. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. I stayed for 6 days with some friends, including a 1 year old child. It's a perfect location for exploring that side of the island. We had several fun day trips in the Volcano and Hilo areas.

The house is beautifully decorated and has a cozy, welcoming feel. The kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms are all well stocked with items you'll need during your stay. There was even a pack n' play for the baby and several fun board games for nights in. The outdoor landscaping is great and there are some nice spots to sit outside and take in all of the surrounding beauty. There is a container of seed outside for feeding the local birds, who arrive every morning for breakfast.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. I would recommend this home to anyone visiting the Volcano area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S
Brea, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If your destination is Volcano HI, you must stay here!”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage lives up to everything others have stated in their reviews. The owners have created an ambiance that makes it feel as if your best friend is sharing their place with you. We felt so much at home it was just amazing. It is very difficult to properly describe our experience at the cottage without sounding phony. But, trust me, you will be more than pleased with your experience here. And the owners are very responsive to any questions you have.

We have rented condos on this and other islands and nothing compares with the Pukeawe Cottage. And, yes, the wood stove does provide enough heat for the whole house. If you plan to arrive after dark, which was what happened to us, I would suggest looking at the location on Google Maps, street view to get your bearings. There are not lights in the area and it is easy to drive by in the dark.

In summary, you will be very pleased if you are staying in the Volcano area and stay here. Plus, it is so close to that park that you can easily take in the evening glow of the volcano which is a treat to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the amenities and the bird food to feed the many birds in the area.
Liked least: Nothing, really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Thank you Robert. That is a good suggestion to look at the street view on google maps if you are arriving after dark. There are no street lights but that's what makes the night sky so amazing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing