We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Base to Explore the National Park and...”
other traveler has booked this property
Rainforest Views from your bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rainforest Views from your bed
Apapane (Ah-Pah-Pah-Nay) playing in the Hapu'u tree ferns in the garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Rainforest Views from your bed
Apapane (Ah-Pah-Pah-Nay) playing in the Hapu'u tree ferns in the garden area.
Kalij pheasants can occasionally be seen on the grounds, making soft 'booping' sounds.
Exotic flowers grow amongst the ferns and towering Ohia trees.
A night view of a lava flow - you never know what you might find.
Anthuriums grow brightly under the forest canopy.
Occasionally you'll see a group of Frankolin crossing the road.
Kilauea Crater in Volcanoes National Park is only minutes away.
The gardens contain a few secluded koi ponds for your enjoyment.
This lava gaurdian is actually where lava flowed around a tree in the park.
There are a few lava tubes in the area that you can easily explore - bring a flashlight!
Our beautiful garden paths walk you between the koi ponds and stands of bamboo through the forest.
Well lit graveled paths lead from the parking area.
Koi ponds and ferns along our garden paths.
The park has exotic beauty of many kinds and colors - and many miles of hiking trails.
Hawaii even gets snow in the winter, on the very peaks of the tallest volcanoes.
Kilauea is the active crater, the centerpiece of the park.
Lava sometimes breaks out and heads to the ocean.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
exgeo
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect Base to Explore the National Park and Surrounding Area”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My wife and I spent 4 nights in this lovely, well kept cottage in a quiet, peaceful setting. The cottage is Ccmfortable, well equipped and has a large shower with a rainforest view. Short drive to the restaurants in Volcano and less than 10 minutes to the park. The owner (Dale) was very helpful in providing information on the area and guiding us on a short nature walk. Highly recommend as a great base to explore the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Really feel like you in the forest”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was a cracking place to stay. The large cottage is beautifully designed and maintained, and is airy inside. It is made predominantly of wood, and this adds to the feel of being in the forest. Dale (the owner) had left fruit, milk, granola and coffee beans for us - we also met him briefly and it was obvious he wanted to make sure our visit was as good as he could make it. The windows are large and the foliage very close - so much you feel you can just reach out and touch it. Outside the property, the birds can always be heard (but are difficult to see!), and it is very close to the National Park - about a five minute drive. Suggest you bring any food you might want with you from larger settlements - a loaf, litre of orange and a piece of cheese were $22 from the local shop. It really is a great place to stay. And my kids want to go and stay there now, but only because of Dale's former profession! ...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara G
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay near Volcano National Park”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We are a group of four adults, and we stayed at the Apapane Guesthouse Cottage and the Hikers Retreat for two nights. It was the perfect place to stay while exploring the Volcano National Park - a very short drive to the park, and a peaceful, secluded place to return to at the end of the day. Both cottages are beautiful, with big windows looking out at the lush grounds. The Apapane Guesthouse Cottage has a very well stocked kitchen, and Dale left fruit, granola, yoghurt and coffee for us to enjoy, which was a very nice treat! Dale was responsive and helpful, and everything about the stay went smoothly. We would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to friends. Thank you for a great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itwilson
Sale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely comfortable. All that we needed.”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Close to Hilo. Close to Volcano National Park. Very quiet area. Excellent rainforest. Limited choice of food venues but what were there we're very good.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinRuss
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“These rainforest cottages really are enchanted”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed three nights in the hiker's retreat. The location provided a great home base for exploring Volcano National Park. The bed was comfortable and the shower was a dream after a long hike.

The grounds provide the enchantment: The view from our bed was spectacular and the patio was the perfect place to curl up with a cup of coffee or a beer and just chill.

*In case of poor weather, there is a small TV and a selection of DVDs. One night, we got take out pizza and watched Groundhog Day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B
Alameda, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfy and Definitely Enchanted”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We came to the ERC because our birding friends recommended it and our stay here wildly exceeded our expectations.

The cottage was comfortable with lots of light from big windows and skylights. The queen bed was firm and there was enough storage for all our clothing and belongings. The shower was luxurious.

The outdoors, as you'll probably hear about reading through all the five star reviews, is lush and private; we sat outside with a couple of beers and watched for Apapane and the elusive Hawaiian hawk.

An unexpected touch, something we haven't experienced at other rentals: milk and yogurt and local bananas, a large bag of Granola, enough coffee beans (and a grinder) for about 5 days, and a big rack of spices. In a cabinet we found olive oil, soy sauce, and a few other cooking helpers.

We like to cook (stocked up on supplies at the KTA market in Hilo) and the cottage's kitchen had an adequate supply of cooking utensils. That worked out well because some of the local restaurants were expensive and the others just okay (even the under-new-management Tuk Tuk Truck).

The hosts, Dale and Cindy, were more than helpful; Dale took us birding at the Bird Park and to an almost full day birding hike just off Saddle Road. I even learned about a new twist on an Old Fashioned (Dale will send you the recipe!). Way cool.

Being so close to Volcano National Park was a plus; even trekking into Hilo was a quick 30 minutes. The price per day was inexpensive; we definitely got our money's worth -- and we'd definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O18JOjohn...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tranquil setting”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Like many or most of the lodging in Volcano Village, this cottage was a few miles off the main road so it was a tranquil setting. The table and chairs outside of our door were a peaceful place to enjoy coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. The fact that it isn't in the park is no big deal because you'd want to drive around in the park anyway to get to sites or to hikes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing