We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely serene and secluded getaway, one with...”
The Volcano Mist Cottage Lanai at Night is a very Romantic setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Volcano Mist Cottage Lanai at Night is a very Romantic setting
Volcano Mist Cottage Entering the Mist Cottage Sanctuary
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Volcano Mist Cottage Lanai at Night is a very Romantic setting
Volcano Mist Cottage
Entering the Mist Cottage Sanctuary
The Lanai Garden Entrance
Teak, Leather and Stone compliment the Lush Greenery
Iridescent Phaleonopsis Orchid on the Lanai
The Cottage is a Beacon of Luxury at Night in the Kilauea Forest Preserve
Soaring Cathedral Ceilings
Oversized Windows in the Mist Living Room let in freah air and light
The Cottage Kitchen can be custom stocked for all your dining needs
Sleep on a Cloud with Luxury Multi Layered Bedding
The Skylit Shower opens to the Forest Preserve and the Outdoor Temple Bath
Forestside Spa Pavilion in the Mist
Fireworks from the Chandelier above the Forestside Spa
The Temple Bath and Spa use filtered rainwater captured on the premises
Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park and the Kilauea Caldera
Halemaumau, Pele\'s Ancestral Home
On the Edge of the Kilauea Caldera
Happy Menehune
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leechy63
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Absolutely serene and secluded getaway, one with nature and nothing else.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

If you're looking for luau's, bars, or shopping centers, this place is NOT for you. If you want quiet and romance with your loved ones or just want to feel like you're in the outdoors while being in luxury, this is the place. Loved it, would rather stay here than a J W or Four Seasons.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsetKez...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful idealic perfect little oasis”
Reviewed January 31, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

The owners of volcano mist cottage have thought of absolutely everything to provide a little calm haven for your holiday. The location is great, it is in fact in a residential area, with houses a few hundred yards away, not that you would really know this as the thick rainforest around the cottage provides absolute seclusion and privacy. The cottage has an outside living room with a fireplace as well as a lovely cosy indoor living room with TV and DVD's provided. I have to say it just felt incredibly 'cozy' from the instant that we got there. The Kitchen is fully equipt with a storecupboard of goods that previous visitors have left behind (thank you to the people who left the small bottle of red wine hope that we 'paid it forward' with the Beer that we left!) There are lovely soft robes which are great for accessing the hot tub and the outside open air shower (what an experience naked as the day you are born outside looking at the stars above you (( and wow are the stars on Hawaii something special)). But dont worry there is an indoor shower too if the thought of outdoor showering is too much. I loved the soft closing doors on all the kitchen drawers and the water dispenser. There are umbrellas supplied (which stupidly we forgot to take out with us and we got very very very wet... it rains a lot in volcano!) I just can't fault this place at all. Oh and there was a lovely touch as we were there to celebrate our birthdays and we had a card there from the manager of the cottage welcoming us and wishing us both a Happy Birthday.

Word of advice Volcano Village itself is a funny little place, you really do need to stock up on food before you get there as the shops seem to sell very limited supplies, at very high prices and the restaurant and Cafe seem to have very limited opening times. There is one restautant, one cafe, one sandwich shop and one thai restaurant. I guess this is the beauty of a small rural location so not knocking it, but I dont think I had appreciated just how limited the choice would be before we got there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage
Liked least: Limited supplies in the local village
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nachrgrl
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful seclusion, perfect honeymoon spot”
Reviewed July 28, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

My now-husband and I were looking for a secluded, peaceful vacation rental for our honeymoon in Volcano that had an outdoor jacuzzi and shower. Volcano Mist was perfect. It's located at the end of a road in total seclusion. As a nature lover and bird enthusiast, I thoroughly enjoyed hearing and seeing all the birds that live only in that area of Hawaii. A comfortable bed is also important since I have bad back issues...The bed was super comfy and perfect. It would be quite chilly for us once the sun started to set, so we enjoyed the invigorating jacuzzi and then the gas-powered indoor fireplace while relaxing on the comfy couch after our day trips to Volcano National Park, which is a mere mile or two down the road. We loved the few restaurants in Volcano Village, including the Kiawe Wood-Fired Pizza and the old YMCA lodge. Enjoyed a late afternoon outing to Volcano Winery....such interesting and wonderful flavors, and the Sunday morning farmer's market is a must....yummy breakfast sandwiches and local coffee and jams, vegetables, fruits as well as locally made crafts. We live on the Kona side of Big Island, but will definitely be back to stay at Volcano Mist.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed June 26, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Value Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed April 29, 2010 for a stay in August 2008

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Amenities
Liked least: Parking far from cottage
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle
Reviewed April 21, 2010 for a stay in January 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$365
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing