We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil Escape”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
198 reviews
DSC2225 opt
_DSC2266.JPG
_DSC2246.JPG
DSCN5932 opt opt opt
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Required display of TAT for advertisement
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 198 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Virginia...
1 review
“Tranquil Escape”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a great launching place for our many adventures. What a great place to come "home" to after a day of hiking and exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace was awesome to warm the chilly evenings.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Hideaway!”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Maile Treehouse is a MAGICAL place to stay! I can't say enough wonderful things about it! My husband and I traveled to Hawaii for our honeymoon and were seeking some quiet and relaxation, and boy did we get it at the Maile Treehouse! First off, Leslie H. was a pleasure to work with, she was very organized and had a quick response time on any inquiries re: our stay. She also has an exquisite touch, because the house is filled with the homiest decorations to make you feel comfortable and relaxed...like you're staying with friends! Our favorite aspects inside the house, were the fireplace and the jacuzzi. It gets a bit chillier in Volcano, than near the Kona side, so the fireplace was a cozy feature. The house is set up with all you need to cook meals during your stay. Just make sure you stop at the store before leaving a bigger area, like Hilo. Also, it is understandable why the house is named the Maile Treehouse, because you are surrounded by foliage...you feel like you're the only people on the island. If you're looking for excitement and nightlife, I probably wouldn't recommend staying in Volcano...this place is meant for the worlds quiet souls. With that said, it's a bit of a hike to get anywhere, except for the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is fairly close. However, Leslie left a book of "to do" suggestions and local highlights that may strike your fancy, which we found super helpful. Overall, after two weeks in Hawaii, staying on multiple island and in multiple hotels/rentals, the Maile Treehouse in Volcano, was by far our favorite stop! So, thank you Leslie! We hope to come back again someday! Mahalo!

Sincerely,
Your friends from Ohio, David & Sara

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill Z
Tualatin, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Tropical Hideaway”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This place is amazing. If it's available, rent it. The photos show the house accurately: it is clean, comfortable, spacious, and utterly delightful. The kitchen is well-equipped, the bed is insanely comfy, and the soaker tub and fireplace are most welcome after a day of hiking in the national park. The lanai is the perfect spot for dinner -- we ended getting takeout and bringing it home because it was such a lovely spot to sit and stare at the garden below. There are windows all around the house (and no curtains), but I never found privacy to be an issue. Quite the opposite: I was constantly spying on the birds that were flitting through the trees. My best moment here was standing in the shower with the windows open, hot water pouring over me, and watching and hearing apapane fly around the trees just outside. Truly magical!

Leslie is a delight to work with--answers emails and even texts very quickly.

I have already recommended this place to friends and family for their next vacation, and if I ever return to the Big Island, this is where I want to stay,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view fro the shower!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy N
Dix Hills, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go ahead and book!”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Loved it! Great place to stay for Volcano visit. Truly unique! Very clean and great attention to detail.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie F
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Good for the soul”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed a the Maile Treehouse for 3 nights while on our honeymoon in Hawaii. What a beautiful place this is! Situated on the second floor amongst the treetops this open plan treehouse was delightfully furnished and decorated. Most comfortable bed bed in Hawaii, fully equipped kitchen, wonderful shower (surrounded by windows so you could shower with a view!), couches to chill out on. Plenty of books and DVD's for a quiet, relaxing evening in and a spa bath if you feel so inclined.

Large windows on all sides mean you can see the stars from bed at night. Remember to bring an eye mask as no curtains means you will be awake with the sun! Despite all these windows it is a very private location completely surrounded by trees on a quiet gravel road.

We stayed in volcano to vist the national park, which was only a short drive away, however it was tempting to stay in the house!

We found lots of treats left for us including a bottle of sparking wine, pancake mix and microwave popcorn.

Staying here was magical - do not miss if you are staying in volcano!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Bed and shower
Liked least: Stars up could be a issue for some
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M
Crescent City, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I Left My Heart at the Maile Treehouse in Volcano, Big Island, Hawaii”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here in the last week of a month-long Hawaii dream vacation to celebrate our birthdays. Hawaii had been experiencing a heat wave, especially hot for the time of year and with no Trade Winds to soften the heat and humidity. We were tired and a little (not a lot) dispirited when we arrived on the Big Island and drove to the Maile Treehouse. Here we found magic! The elevation provides a drop in temperature, and the wide open windows in the lodging take advantage of sweet, cooling breezes. There are so many delightful and charming touches to this place. We gave our landlady the TripAdvisor Service pin we'd been holding onto for six months. She deserved it! We are considering giving a gift of a week at the Maile Treehouse to our son and his wife. What a restoration this retreat provides! It is quiet, quiet, quiet--except for wonderful rain forest bird songs. It's located just a couple of miles away from Volcano National Park, and we went there several times during our stay. But mostly we could hardly bear to miss time in the lodging, it was that great. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting: In the trees with the birds! WOW!!
Liked least: There was NOTHING to not like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amitpatil...
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2013

It was my first time in hawaii and me and wife who are into adventure decided to pick this place up.
Staying at this unique place for our honeymoon made it really special.we stayed on the second floor of this treehouse.The house is unique and beautiful and is very well decorated.
Considering that food in hawaii is expensive having a complete kitchen worked very well in our favor.
Hawaii volcano national park is a short drive away.
Kudos to Leslie and her husband for maintaining such a beautiful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing