We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Honeymoon”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
DSC2225 opt
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
199 reviews
DSC2225 opt
_DSC2266.JPG
_DSC2246.JPG
DSCN5932 opt opt opt
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Required display of TAT for advertisement
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 199 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amitpatil...
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2013

It was my first time in hawaii and me and wife who are into adventure decided to pick this place up.
Staying at this unique place for our honeymoon made it really special.we stayed on the second floor of this treehouse.The house is unique and beautiful and is very well decorated.
Considering that food in hawaii is expensive having a complete kitchen worked very well in our favor.
Hawaii volcano national park is a short drive away.
Kudos to Leslie and her husband for maintaining such a beautiful property.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snarper
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Attraction in Volcano”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What do you say about the Maile Treehouse? Well it isn’t your typical cottage; it is more like staying in someone’s home and not just any home, their pride and joy. It is filled with little nick nacs and curiosities. Everywhere you look there is a little mouse ornament or a gecko or a frog in a tree outside your window. It is also glass all around and surrounded by thick trees, so although it is the second storey of a house, there is another unit downstairs, it does truly feel like a treehouse. Don’t get me wrong, it is also very private. At the same time it is both functional and comfortable with everything you need. My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. It is about 2 or 3 km out of Volcano up a small quite lane which runs off a quiet street. The pictures above are an accurate representation. It is one of those sorts of places where staying there is an experience in itself, where you feel you should have spent time just laying around instead of seeing the sites. If all you want is a place to put your head then this is not for you. However if you want to add to your experience of the Volcano region then I can’t imagine a better place.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall feel
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2014
Delighted our efforts to make Maile Treehouse 'more than just a place to stay' was so thoroughly enjoyed. Just to be clear.. THE 'DOWNSTAIRS UNIT' is only a second bedroom option to the guest staying in the main house, NOT RENTED SEPARATELY during someone's stay!
Aloha,
Leslie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertBea...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hated to leave”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have rented a number of vacation rentals in Hawaii in the past, particularly on Kauai, and this one is certainly our favorite. The place is private (which is good since it has no window coverings), immaculately clean, and fun. The owners were great to work with and
they have gone to great lengths to plan so many details and surprises that we continued to find throughout our two night stay (some of them when we least expected).

The house was so convenient to Volcano National Park, yet away from the crowds and hustle and bustle. The only problem we had is that we didn't want to leave to explore the great sights nearby or head to the other side of the island for the rest of our stay. We would come back here again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomJavaJ...
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rancho Relaxo!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

OK, So it's nothing like the Simpsons episode but the tree house is lovely. It's so quiet and secluded you almost feel like the only people around. It is located in the town of Volcano but it is just far enough away from everyone to make it a great getaway. The tree house is lovely and the pictures are accurate. Lovely hardwood floors, beautiful Jacuzzi tub and everywhere you look a window with a view of the lush forest. The patio is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy your morning coffee. We even had an issue (beeping smoke detector) when we first arrived and Leslie had someone take care of it within an hour. The house was immaculately cleaned and maintained. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this location to anyone. It is very close to the Volcano National forest and the shops in town were very convenient.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing