We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't look good - didn't taste good”

Eagles Lighthouse Cafe
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Doesn't look good - didn't taste good”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

There are so few options in the area - too bad one of them is so unappetizing. The pre-made stuff was not made the day it was served - probably the night before, I hope. There is no love of food here or appreciation of good service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonThomasChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    136
    42
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute Little Sandwich Shop”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stopped at Cafe Ohia for a late lunch. The portions are huge and decided to split. We shared the Portuguese bean soup and a turkey sandwich on their homemade cranberry-macnut bread. Excellent flavor. Even though we were satisfied, we had to try the carrot cake which we also shared - very good.

There are a few tables outside to sit at or you can order for carryout. We will definitely stop again next time in Volcano.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whalesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We ordered takeout for our party of four from Café Ohia our last day in Hawaii. They were busy but gave prompt and courteous service. We took the lunches back to Volcano Country Cottages where we were staying just down the road. Two people ordered the bean soup in the bread bowl with a potato salad. My husband ordered the chili and I had the quiche of the day (spinach). We also had the cold bean salad. Everyone enjoyed their lunch and said it was good.
We were all a little down to have to leave the big island of Hawaii that evening to return home to the Mainland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolinagirl002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Simple but good”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Trying to dine out in Volcano can be challenging with very few choices, but I stumbled upon Cafe Ohia today and was pleasantly surprised. While lacking somewhat in ambience, they had great sandwich choices including gluten free bread! I haven't been able to order a sandwich out for ages, so I splurged for the pastrami and it was great. I would have loved to try the meatloaf and mashed potatoes but alas the gluten...definitely a great choice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good sandwich stop”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stopped twice for great (large) deli sandwiches, made to order. Excellent macadamia nut cookies and a tasty carrot cake from a well stocked desert case.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagles Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Eagles Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing