We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy cottage in the rain forest very close to Volcano NP” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Mist Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Mist Cottage
Ranked #18 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage in the rain forest very close to Volcano NP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved this cottage....hard to believe it's so close to Volcano NP (2 miles) and is in a rain forest! The photos on their website are accurate. Owners and manager take care of the details (washer/dryer, robes, stocked kitchen, etc). Loved the outdoor seating with fireplace (although we didn't use it given the warmer temps), outdoor shower and hot tub. The info book and flyers on the coffee table were very good. In the book is a list of massage therapist - Suzanne was outstanding....great after hikes in the park. Only drawback is the small size of the bedroom as the bed took up most of the space - however, the bed linens and comfortable mattress made up for it. If you want peace and tranquility but close to hiking and activities, this is a great place

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texascajun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 4 beautiful nights at the Volcano Mist Cottage. This place has all the amenities and felt just like home. If you are a couple looking to spend time in Volcano to visit the National Park and the Hilo region, we highly recommend the Volcano Mist Cottage.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amazingracechamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
403 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ever dream of staying in a beautiful and secluded cottage surrounded by your own private rainforest, waking up to the sound of tropical birds, relaxing at night in a outdoor hot tub, and still having all your modern conveniences at your fingertips? This is that place.

The Volcano Mist Cottage is located at the end of a jungle-lined dead end street about 3 miles from the entrance to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Your first glimpse of the cottage will be through the lush foliage of a tropical rainforest When you enter through the outdoor covered patio, you will find an very attractive, modern, and comfortable refuge from the world. Everything in the cabin is top notch from the amazingly stocked kitchen, to the convenient washer and drier, to the beautiful art prints on the walls, to the secluded outdoor hot tub. I have nothing but praise and admiration for the owners of the cottage. And thanks for introducing us to Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar music.

My one and only complaint is that the large bed leaves very little space to maneuver in the bedroom.

If you get the opportunity, jump straight into a small piece of tranquility.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

There can't be a better place to stay in Volcano. Absolutely private, super clean, and well stocked. Loved, loved, loved the outdoor shower (probably used it 10x in just 2 days). Worth the $$$$. Only minor problem was that 2 of the 3 outdoor front lights didn't work...oh well, I can easily drink my wine well lit or not. Hey Keeper of the cottage, keep up the excellent work...we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in July 2011, and this place exceeded all of our expectations. It's set in a rainforest near Hawaii Volcanoes national park.

There's actually *two* showers, one of which is outside. This sounds freaky at first, but you're well protected from being seen by anyone else by lots of trees. The hot tub (also outside) is pretty with changing lights. Kitchen is very modern, excellently stocked not just with dishes, but with food, as they encourage guests to leave (non-perishable) food for future guests. Includes tv, dvd player. Amazing soaps/shampoos. Took a while to find the washer/dryer (it's in a closet on the outside of the unit, near the outside showers). Only thing is there's no regular maid service, so you have to keep the place tidy yourself, but that's normal for a place like this.

There is *supposed* to be wireless internet here, but we never did get it to work, but the place is so good we just didn't care.

Room Tip: Definitely, if you can afford this place, go for it! There's only one unit, so that's not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venknat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

My time at Volcano Mist Cottage was indescribably wonderful. The cottage is truly a healing sanctuary. The grounds are amazingly lush. The attention to detail and fine quality choices in furnishings and linens are lovely. The mist and the privacy of Volcano Mist cottage lends itself to both romance and retreat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kahmemela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the Volcano Mist Cottage in February 2010. The cottage is exactly like the photo's on their website. It is just a few minute drive to Volcano's National Park and is an awesome location if you are planning to explore the park for a few days. The backyard hot tub is a welcome amenity when you have spent the day hiking in the park. It was wonderful to wake up to the sound of the song birds in the rain forest and to fall asleep to the song of the crickets... Can't wait until we have another chance to visit and enjoy the serentity of Volcano Mist!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueGuyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.9 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Mist Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Mist Cottage

Property: Volcano Mist Cottage
Address: 11-3932 Ninth Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Mist Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Kilauea Forest Preserve adjacent to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Volcano Mist Cottage offers you the simple understated luxuries of space, tranquility, rest and privacy. Our handcrafted home is designed with extraordinary attention to detail and constructed with great respect for the elemental Spirits present in Hawaii: Earth, Wind, Fire and Water. We offer premiere Volcano Village lodging, artfully fusing the qualities of a 5-Star luxury hotel with the amenities of a vacation home rental, the romantic charm of a small inn or bed-and-breakfast, and the absolute privacy of a personal hideaway in the Hawaiian highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Volcano Mist Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Mist Cottage Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing