We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Fern Forest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Fern Forest Retreat
Ranked #19 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay! Our room was very spacious, extremely clean, nicely decorated and so comfortable and relaxing. The grounds are beautiful, with lovely plants and trees that create a peaceful atmosphere and secluded setting.
Lenny is a wonderful host and really has thought of everything. We followed his emailed directions and had no trouble finding the place. Once we arrived, Lenny showed us through the room and left us breakfast for the next morning. This was great as we wanted to make an early start in the National Park the next morning.
One afternoon during our stay it was raining and cold, so we decided to stay in the room for a few hours. We turned on the gas fireplace and flicked through the TV channels (I have never seen so many channels before!). Really cosy and relaxing. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our 2 night stay could not have been any nicer. The room was ready when we arrived, Lenny got us oriented and then left us alone. Everything you can imagine you'd need is in the spotlessly clean and uniquely decorated room. Convenient to the park yet quiet and secluded. Just great. We even enjoyed reading the comments from other travelers from all over the world.
You will be happy you chose the VFFR.

Room Tip: Both options are beautiful. The slightly larger suite has fireplace which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Volcano Fern Forest Retreat is just a few miles away from the Volcano National Park on the Big Island, but it is very secluded. We had trouble finding it, then discovered we never printed the detailed directions from the nice owner, Lenny. The room is very large -- like a studio apartment with a tiny kitchen and regular-sized bath. The decore is quite pleasant and of course when you look outside, there are wonderful plants and wild orchids. Lenny recommended some good restaurants nearby and had lots of information about visiting the park. We were very happy we chose to stay close to the park for 2 days. The drive from Kona is quite pleasant, but it's definitely not a day trip.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivierLeSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were here for two nights and chose based on past reviews and what a great choice!! Lenny was great to email immediately after booking. He gave hints on the location so we were not AS surprised to locate it in the dark which was difficult. But once we made it, it was amazing! He had the place lit up and our name on the chalkboard so we knew where to park:) The suite was very homey, felt like we were visiting relatives. It was extremely clean and had everything we needed. He had flashlights, bottled water, menus, you name it. The location is very near the park so easy to make several trips a day if needed. Everyone talked about the fruit breads and they were delicious! It was perfect and we would stay here again without any doubt. Great job Lenny!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were here for 1 night in August to go on our lava hike. I had some emails exchanges with Lenny, who informed us beforehand that GPS may not work in the area, so gave us direct driving directions. I was a bit worried at first about staying in the rain forest, with bugs everywhere. To my surprise, it was a very nice place. The room was well equipped and very comfy. Lenny was a friendly man. He left the house lights on so that we would find our way back after our night hike. Unfortunately, we arrived late afternoon and left early the next morning, so didn't get to explore the surroundings. It was a very quiet and relaxing place. I would definitely return if I come back to Big Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcyu422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon,UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in the Volcano suite for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. From the moment we met Lenny the owner we were instantly made to feel at home. Lenny should be very proud of what he has achieved here, the rooms are incredible and the attention to detail to make our stay comfortable was the best we have experienced. For example the signposts with our name, the well maintained gardens and surroundings, the free torches, binoculars, restaurant menus, cloths for cleaning shoes, shampoo and conditioner.

We were going on the volcano boat tour and Lenny even provided us with motion sickness tablets as the journey is renowned for being choppy, which was such a nice gesture.

Breakfast is served in the room which is such a good idea as you can get up when you want without the risk of missing breakfast. Thank you Lenny for such an amazing stay and for making us feel so welcome.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennessy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you stay here once, you’ll wonder why you would ever stay anywhere else. We’ve stayed in several places in and around Volcano over the years to be near the Park, and we’ve never been disappointed; all have been very good. But this one stands above the rest mainly because of Lenny and his understanding of guests’ needs, from privacy to friendliness to all of the little “extras” that make this feel like such a welcoming and comfortable place to be. If anyone was born to be the host of a B&B or guest house, Lenny is the one. The fresh fruit and “Mom’s” breads every morning are wonderful; this garden in the rainforest is beautiful; the attention to detail is amazing. If it’s full, you’ll be OK elsewhere, but when we come back, we’ll be back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
5.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Fern Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Fern Forest Retreat

Property: Volcano Fern Forest Retreat
Address: 11-2846 Alii Kane St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast suites and vacation rentals tucked away in the outskirts of Volcano just minutes from the entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. These suites offers privacy, comfort, and convenience to area activities. Located on professionally landscaped acreage in the rainforest, its features include a combo bedroom (queen size bed) / living area, full bath, breakfast nook, outdoor BBQ, TV (Dish Network), Wi-Fi. Complete linens provided including towels, comforters & blankets. Nicely appointed and furnished in charming decor, the Fern Forest Retreat will be the perfect home base for your volcano adventure. Everything is here for you to enjoy your stay in this unique area of the Big Island. The Hawaii Volcanoes National Park offers the visitor a special view of nature unlike anyplace else on earth. Be sure to plan enough time to enjoy the hiking, craters, lava tubes, lush rainforest, steam vents, birds, ancient petroglyphs, spectacular views, and brand new land. The visitor center offers excellent exhibits, films, geological talks, and information. Also, top local artisans display their works at the Volcano Art Center Gallery located in the park. We are located within minutes of Volcano Village and restaurants. So enjoy exploring the area and come home to the suites at The Volcano Fern Forest Retreat.We offer a variety of accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Volcano Fern Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Fern Forest Retreat Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing