We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Fern Forest Retreat
Ranked #19 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Unfortunately we were only two nights in this place and it was amazing. Lenny is so nice and always worried if everything is ok. He prepared the breakfast and also some snacks for our days exploring the volcano. The room is very good decorated, very clean and comfortable. In our 15 day stay through the hawaii islands, this room was by far the better. I recommend this room to everyone, you won't regret it. Thank you Lenny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
59
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Everything about this place is an absolute delight. The owner is a wonderful person with a very high taste for decoration. The house is at the very end of a road in the middle of a beautiful peaceful forest. The only room is spacious, very clean and lovely decorated. The breakfast was delicious with fresh papaya and homemade cake. We more than highly recommend this exquisite B&B. Definitely one of the highlight of our stay on Hawai'i.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Rarely does a stay at a single place raise your enjoyment of the whole trip.
The owner of this B&B was so attentive to our needs on our quick one-night stay, that it changed what could have been a quickie one-nighter into a great stop and wonderful memory.
Clean, large, fun, wonderful.
We got a great home-made breakfast snack to take with us.
Our only regret is we wished we could have stayed longer to explore the property.
If we are ever in the area, this will absolutely be our place to stay.

Room Tip: Only one room, but he might expand. A+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StartsWithaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here recently and enjoyed the quiet and comfort of our room . It was spotless and breakfast each morning was delicious. Lenny is very friendly and has thought of everything-umbrellas, flashlights, chairs, even binoculars. The grounds are lovely. I would recommend this B& B to anyone. It is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gami_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have nothing but positive things to say about our stay at Volcano Fern Forest Retreat. We arrived in the late afternoon only to discover through a mix-up that we did not actually have a reservation and they were not expecting us. Luckily the room was available. And Leonard was incredibly flexible, kind and welcoming. He was a fabulous host and clearly really enjoys having people stay on his property and showing them his little piece of paradise. He is very knowledgeable about the area and gave us lots of great suggestions about where to eat and things to do.

The suite is lovely. It is very tastefully and thoughtfully decorated and has a great view of the jungle with big windows on three sides of the room. We were impressed by all the thoughtful details including Leonard offered us chairs to go view the volcano in the evening and in the suite, in addition to the fresh breakfast he provided there was also cereal, milk and juice, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The banana bread was excellent and freshly baked by his lovely mother. Very sweet! The setting is gorgeous, and it is at the very end of a gravel road, so it feels far removed from everything. In the morning we went for a walk through the grounds and his care and attention extends to his beautiful landscaping of the large property.

The place is excellent for the price and we would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves returning to the Big Island.

Thanks Leonard! You made us feel very special.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toweringtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Fern Forest Retreat in late January 2012, and would strongly recommend it for travelers out to see the Volcanoes National Park. It's literally a 5-10 minute drive away from the park entrance, located just east of the turnoff for Volcano Village. The room (there's only 1 at the moment, but they're in the process of building another) is pretty much the equivalent of a master bedroom at home... very similar feel and the location is spectacular (nestled in the rain forest, the 'Fern Forest' is very aptly named! It's a bit of a drive down a dirt road (just keep going... they're at the end, but we had no issue making it down there in a little Versa... just expect a bump or two. Vicky was very friendly/helpful... she gave us some good advice on what to do in the park, where to eat, where to get gas... all the essentials for saving time and a getting the most out of your trip. She always had breakfast in the room waiting for us, which was typically a loaf of banana bread to share and fruit + cereal and milk in the fridge. It definitely saved us some time eating out in the AM, and very much hit the spot. Overall, the place has a great ambiance (rainforest), it's private, clean, the prices are reasonable (especially for Hawaii) and the owner's a delight. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaknafein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

While staying in Kailua Kona, we came up to the volcano park for a day. Since we wanted to spend more time at the park and less time driving, we decided to spend the night up here. We chose the Volcano Suite at Volcano Fern Forest Retreat after reading all of the excellent reviews on TA and it did not disappoint. Lenny's mom, Vicky, greeted us and gave us the low down on the b&b and the park. The room is large and beautifully furnished with a small kitchenette and a bathroom with bath/shower. Everything you need is provided, including restaurant menus, flashlights, binoculars& raincoats. The fridge is stocked with orange juice and milk along with cereal and breakfast bars in the cabinet. There is also drinking water in a large jug along with 2 bottles of water. In conclusion, the Volcano Suite is a great place to stay, roomy and you'll want for nothing, in a beautiful and quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marguaritor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
5.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Fern Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Fern Forest Retreat

Property: Volcano Fern Forest Retreat
Address: 11-2846 Alii Kane St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast suites and vacation rentals tucked away in the outskirts of Volcano just minutes from the entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. These suites offers privacy, comfort, and convenience to area activities. Located on professionally landscaped acreage in the rainforest, its features include a combo bedroom (queen size bed) / living area, full bath, breakfast nook, outdoor BBQ, TV (Dish Network), Wi-Fi. Complete linens provided including towels, comforters & blankets. Nicely appointed and furnished in charming decor, the Fern Forest Retreat will be the perfect home base for your volcano adventure. Everything is here for you to enjoy your stay in this unique area of the Big Island. The Hawaii Volcanoes National Park offers the visitor a special view of nature unlike anyplace else on earth. Be sure to plan enough time to enjoy the hiking, craters, lava tubes, lush rainforest, steam vents, birds, ancient petroglyphs, spectacular views, and brand new land. The visitor center offers excellent exhibits, films, geological talks, and information. Also, top local artisans display their works at the Volcano Art Center Gallery located in the park. We are located within minutes of Volcano Village and restaurants. So enjoy exploring the area and come home to the suites at The Volcano Fern Forest Retreat.We offer a variety of accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Volcano Fern Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Fern Forest Retreat Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing