We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude ruined experience”
Review of Cafe' Ono

Cafe' Ono
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Café Ono is a vibrant, ecologically sound, dining experience in an old Hawaiian garden estate. We feature: •Hearty soups•Fresh organic salads•Savory sandwiches•High tea•Gourmet desserts•Locally grown coffee & teaCatering is available. We can also host your meetings and special events.Come by for a delicious meal or pick up a picnic lunch to go!Lunch 11:00 am–3:00 pmCoffee · Tea · Desserts 10:00 am–4:00 pm
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Attitude ruined experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm sorry to say that attitude ruined our meal at this place. We arrived early and sat at one of the tables inside the cute Hawaiian style house. We did love the art gallery connected to the restaurant.
The food was average but dang expensive for what we got. All would be fine except the dang server was giving out more attitude than friendly service. No aloha spirit here. Bummer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanoGardenArts, Owner at Cafe' Ono, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are sorry that this customer did not have a good experience with us. It is interesting to note that this was their second visit to Café Ono and the first review they gave us was not a good one either. We question why they would return to a place that they already perceived as not to their liking. If they choose to come again we hope that they will ask to speak to myself or a manager for assistance if they have another problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    102
    36
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“3 acre Zen garden, perfect outdoor dining!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch. Beautiful garden, nice covered seating areas and a very diverse and delicious vegetarian / vegan menu. The food is hearty enough for non-veg types too. It was a perfect stopping place right outside the Volcanoes National Park.

We opted outside on a perfect day. Inside seating too. Try their amazing carrot cake!

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wow - fantastic food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We got lunch carryout. Everything we ordered was top notch - hummus panini, salad, soup, lasange. This is the perfect place for vegetarians and vegan, and is competitive with the best places in cities like San Francisco. Excellent service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiliconValleyRamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, but pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I didn't quite know what we were in for, but in the end we loved it. Be warned, the menu is rather limited and not kid-friendly. You will not find turkey sandwiches or pizza on it. We ended up with vegetarian lasagna and he devoured it - but once they have sold it all, they are out for the day.

We had the tomato vegetable soup and the panni vegetable sandwiches, both of which were delicious. The side salad is huge and served with a ton of fresh veggies. (This isn't your standard iceberg & tomato salad.)

The gift shop/art gallery was a nice bonus. We ended up with two new small prints for the walls in addition to our stuffed bellies.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StorytellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear,az
2 reviews
“When your sign says open, don't act surprised when customers show up.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We saw a sign for Cafe One and decided to try it out. When we got to the turn in there was a sign that said "Cafe Ono- Open". So, we turned in. We walked into the cafe and after a minute two women came out of a back room, looked annoyed and said we are not open. We told them that their sign said "open" and they responded that that was referring to their art park.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Srmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanoGardenArts, Owner at Cafe' Ono, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
It seems this person was misguided by wrong information. Cafe Ono has never served breakfast or dinner, we only serve lunch. This is plainly noted in all our advertising and our phone message. Also note that the cafe is housed within Volcano Garden Arts gallery on the historic grounds of an old estate which is open daily. Therefore the open sign at the main gate pertains to the gallery and the grounds. The cafe is closed on Mondays for cleaning and cooking. To give us such a poor rating when they did not even get to try the food, service or ambiance is just a "revenge review" and not very helpful to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Ono also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe' Ono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing