We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Volcano Meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe' Ono

Cafe' Ono
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Café Ono is a vibrant, ecologically sound, dining experience in an old Hawaiian garden estate. We feature: •Hearty soups•Fresh organic salads•Savory sandwiches•High tea•Gourmet desserts•Locally grown coffee & teaCatering is available. We can also host your meetings and special events.Come by for a delicious meal or pick up a picnic lunch to go!Lunch 11:00 am–3:00 pmCoffee · Tea · Desserts 10:00 am–4:00 pm
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Volcano Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had the quiche, and sweet potato casserole. Enjoyed it with the garden salad & daily soup, and delicious ice tea! This was the best meal we had on the Big Island (including eating at the Four Seasons!) Loved all the local ingredients, homemade taste, and eating out in the beautiful garden with Ernest, the goat. The gallery & gift shop is a wonderful place to spend time while your meal is made. Lovely, beautiful restaurant!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SBrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    98
    35
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

In addition to the yummy crustless quiche, the owner stopped in to make sure we were having a great experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Surpisingly tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lets start by saying I am wearing a T shirt that says "There is a place for all of God's creatures...right next to the potatoes and gravy." So this not my usual type of restaurant.

When we parked we were not exactly sure where to go in (the door is in the back). Inside we found friendly servers and patrons (needless to say I was not wearing this T shirt on that day). I had a bean soup that was good and a Hawaiian Sweat Potato casserole that tasted fantastic. The coconut macaroon cookies were tasty but the ice cream was just so-so.

After eating were wandered through the art shop and talked with Mr Ono.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cityglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food and relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Make sure to stop here before visiting Hawaii Volcano National Park. The food is delicious, the garden is very relaxing, and the owner/staff are friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank msenous6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ended up here for lunch because the place we originally planned on going to had just had a tour bus land. I'm so glad we found it. It's a vegetarian restaurant and the food was fresh and original. We both had soup and a salad and they were great. Some of the lunch entrees sounded great, but just too much food. We sat inside, but the outside tables would have been great. We met the owner, what great guy he is. After finishing lunch we spent time in the gallery and I purchased a scarf.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Ono also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe' Ono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing