We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian Fare Extraordinaire”
Review of Cafe' Ono

Cafe' Ono
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Café Ono is a vibrant, ecologically sound, dining experience in an old Hawaiian garden estate. We feature: •Hearty soups•Fresh organic salads•Savory sandwiches•High tea•Gourmet desserts•Locally grown coffee & teaCatering is available. We can also host your meetings and special events.Come by for a delicious meal or pick up a picnic lunch to go!Lunch 11:00 am–3:00 pmCoffee · Tea · Desserts 10:00 am–4:00 pm
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Fare Extraordinaire”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Ira Ono is a great host. Cafe Ono is a treat to all who visit. The meals seem well thought out. Filling and visually pleasing. Will return again and again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank VolcanoDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    99
    36
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Even a carnivore liked it”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Veggie type place, food was very tasty and the portions were good. Atmosphere was very nice and it is a good combination of art gallery and cafe. Very friendly environment.
The lasagna and the four type spinach were good.
It is closed on Monday.
Would go back next time in the area, and it is located almost at the end of that road.

BT

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerraformTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Secret Garden”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had lunch here. Amazing grounds and the vegetarian food was excellent. We browsed the gift shop after lunch and found some amazing artist made items, which we purchased. We almost missed this place and were so glad we didn't.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beckyvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I agree with the other reviewer that as a meat eater I usually dont find too much on the menu, but the lasagna is delicious and filling. My wife had the soup of the day and really enjoyed it. Worth looking for this one. As a side note, if you say hi to earnest the goat, be careful because his playful horns can hurt.

Helpful?
Thank ca_jedi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haiku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cafe' Ono is "ono-licious"!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Being an avid meat-eater, I usually leave a vegetarian meal feeling not quite satisfied, but the food at this charming cafe was exceptional, from the homemade dressing to the heartwarming soup and generously portioned lasagne. I wish I could have squeezed in one of the gourmet desserts on the menu that day. "Ono" in hawaiian means "delicious", and the cafe definitely lives up to its name. The property is landscaped in lovely vignettes of tables and sculptures, and on a nice day it would be great to have one's meal outside. The cafe opens into a very nice gallery, with handmade items by local artists selected with a keen eye for beauty and aesthetics in a variety of price ranges. I couldn't help but buy a few items for myself as well as gifts to take home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Ono also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe' Ono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing