We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bel4trave...
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Ohana house was a lovely place to stay on our trip to the big island. There were 4 adults and 4 teens and we all had our own space. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. The owner (Becky) will give you some great tips on groceries and how to get there (follow these). Awesome location for the Volcano National Park.... hoping to get back there one day Mahalo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2017
Glad you had a good time in Volcano and enjoyed the Ohana House. Do come back! We'll give you our returning guest discount. We loved hosting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erick C
1 review
“Awesome house”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Enjoyed our stay. The house was very clean. It had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone that enjoys getting away from the busy city life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
So glad you had a good visit to Volcano and the Ohana House. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayatsu
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene, comfortable rain forest home”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My entire group-husband, his mother, and four teenagers- loved this house! Upon arrival, the house was welcoming, clean, and well stocked with essentials. My boys loved the loft and everyone else was happy with their room. We stayed for five nights and enjoyed returning to Ohana House after exploring Volcanoes National Park, touring the Hilo waterfalls and snorkeling at the Hilo beach parks. The owner, Becky, was accommodating with questions and provided detailed directions, instructions, and grocery shopping tips. A binder at the house is also a great resource. We hope to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2017
I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! Please come back some day and we'll give you our preferred guest discount. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks for the great review. I'm so glad your family had a wonderful Big Island holiday, and that the Ohana House was a good fit. Hope you'll return someday. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Thanks for the suggestions, Maria! I'm glad you had a nice stay. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fay K
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Space and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of six stayed here for four days and were pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere created by the design and decor of the house. It was such a fun house to stay in. The beds were really comfortable and the bedrooms were large. It was fun being a family again sitting around the large table at breakfast and sorting out what we were doing for the day. There is so much to do and see in Volcano.The washing and drying facilities were much appreciated after a soaking walk to the crater in the rain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere and the kitchen had everything you could need.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Glad you had a good trip and that the house was right for you! Hope to welcome you back one day. Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby159
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great short term rental”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spacious and comfortable house near the volcano. Situated in the rain forest, with big ferns everywhere, one half expected a velociraptor to appear.

We wanted a place where we could get an early start visiting the volcano and also see the glow of the lava at night. Totally met our needs.

3 bedrooms plus a loft sleeps 8. Off the beaten path, but internet and TV were as good as home. We didn't do any cooking, but the kitchen seemed well equipped.

We ate breakfast in, but went to local restaurants for lunch and dinner.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing