We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house for family next to Volcano Park”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MJ L
Pittsford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great house for family next to Volcano Park”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house is great for two families of 4 to share. The view from the table is a huge window that shows a lush forest. Kids had rooms with separate twin beds - one closed bedroom, one loft space. Two full bathrooms, one in hall, other in "master" bedroom. The stacker washer-dryer were well-used. It is very humid here, so wet towels never really dry. We washed the towels while only being there 3 nights. There were more things included than we realized - shampoo, body wash, detergent. Kitchen was well-stocked with plates, dishes, etc. Gas-BBQ on porch worked great. You will however be doing your own dishes - no dishwasher. Since we ate out most meals, except breakfast, that was no a big deal. Do bring a sweatshirt for the cool nights - it went into the low 50s at night. Air conditioning was not missed, and we used blankets to keep warm. Love this house and will keep it in mind if we ever come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the bedrooms
Liked least: No blinds on several windows let early morning sun in and woke up people earlier than desired.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoF...
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious Cozy Home in Beautiful Rainforest Setting, Convenient Location”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family of 5 (3 kids ages 6-12) loved our stay at Ohana House-- the kids did not want to leave. The location is very convenient-- just minutes to Volcano National Park and an easy drive down to Hilo, and yet has the feel of secluded rainforest retreat. It is fun to view the glowing crater at night from the Jagger museum, and we liked the fact that we could zip over there in a matter of minutes-- did it twice! Home is very comfortable with 3 bedrooms plus a loft (our two boys enjoyed being able to take over the loft as their own) and two bathrooms. Home was well stocked with kitchen supplies, shower supplies and books and games. Lots of natural light, and the great room area with gas fireplace was very cozy-- lots of cozy blankets provided as well.
Recommendations for activities in Volcano include hiking the Kilauea Iki Trail, visiting the Thurston Lava Tube, and the local Thai restaurant. They also sometimes have hula performances on Friday evenings hosted by the Volcano arts center next to the visitors center. Near Hilo the Umauma Zip Line Experience and Akaka Falls ( 1 hr drive) made for another wonderful day. Stopped off at the grocery store in Hilo on the way back and bought fresh caught sword fish for $5/lb (!!) and cooked it on the grill at Ohana House-- amazing!
Becky was very easy to work with and provided lots of useful information-- she also was wonderfully helpful when our son left an item behind.
Highly Recommend

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimVick
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great rental near Volcano National Park that can accommodate a larger group.”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Ohana House for a weekend while visiting Volcano National Park. The house is just minutes from the park entrance and near the village stores and restaurants. It is a larger house with 3 bedrooms and a large loft. The master bedroom has a master bath and there is another large bathroom on the main floor. It was chilly while we were there and the gas stove kept the large great room warm. Some of the bedrooms had baseboard heat which was a little less effective so the rooms were a little cool but comfortable for sleeping. The house is in a subdivision but you are screened from the neighbors by trees and bushes. Dealing with Becky Emerson with the details of the rental was friendly and easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roomy, comfortable house in a great location.
Liked least: Noisy dehumidifiers would kick on occasionally in several of the rooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaFor...
New York
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great house and location”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the house for 3 nights while exploring the Volcano National Park and Hilo/Puna area. The house is located a few minutes away from the park and the Volcano village with some restaurants, mini-market and gas station.
The house looks new and very well maintained. The kitchen is fully equipped and the beds are comfy. We loved having coffee in the morning at the dining table enjoying the trees and sunshine.
Great for a family or a group of friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Slahood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding on every level- this is the house to rent.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

At Ohana House Becky goes out of her way to make your stay superior. The house is spotless. The conditions and decorations are superior, and her recommendations are accurate, which makes planning a breeze. We ate at The Lodge restaurant, which she recommended and enjoyed the atmosphere and food very much this is an upscale but cozy establishment. Complete meals with drinks are about $60.00 per person. We also ate at the more casual Tahi Thai restraunt, which had world-class Tahi food. It's around $20-30 per person for a complete meal. The art galary at Ono restaurant has an excellent variety of art selection and the gentleman who assisted us was exceptionally knowledgable. The Volcano Winery is worth a stop too. Very friendly staff and some unique wines. The helicopter tour of the volcanos and waterfalls by Paradise was the highlight, and of course the National Psrk was great. You should visit early morning to avoid the crowds. Again, thank you Becky. Our trip was great. Your house was much better than the house we rented in Captain Cook. I'm not going to bother writing a review on that one.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing