We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Against all odds, an okay place to stay”
Review of Halana Hale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halana Hale
Ranked #25 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Halana Lodge for 2 nights as part of our exploration of the national park. The property is set far back from the village, approximately 10-15 minutes drive. When we arrived there, we called the number displayed on the door and the innkeeper was here within a few minutes. She was welcoming and extremely polite and helpful, but it felt rushed and a bit creepy once she left. Because of the place being in the mountains, it gets cold, misty and dark quickly.
The room as well as the rest of the lodge smelled damp; requires more frequent airing and/or use of dehumidifiers. It did not feel right. The window sill in the Blue Hawaii room had mould growth. We ran out of hot water in the morning. The bath towels cannot dry because the place is saturated with moisture. Breakfast was ok but not astonishing. Go to O'hia café in the village to top it up, get a decent cup of coffee and a huge sandwich for your lunch.
I really don't mean to be harsh, but if I were to come back to Volcano, I would not stay here again.
One positive point is that the innkeeper knew everything about the area and I am grateful we were advised to go see the volcano glow at night, it was amazing.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NicF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Halana Hale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you stay in B&B's you need to be adaptable, a bit flexible and a bit adventurous. Like Forest Gump's box of chocolates, you never know exactly what you're going to get. I say this because Volcano does not have a hotel and we were not sure exactly what we were going to et when we booked a coupl of nights here.
We were rewarded with a large home with two large living areas where you can spread out and relax. Halana is out in the country and is a nice drive down country lanes from Volcano Village. We liked the peace and quiet in the country and didn't mind driving a few miles to find the tranquility. Our room (Blue Hawaii) was comfortable and clean.
Mahi is a great hostess and we enjoyed talking with her and the other guests who both turned out to be from Germany on round the world trips. Close to the National Park, it is a great location to venture to he Park or North to Hilo. Mahi has a gret knowledge of the island and local area.
We felt very at home here and highly recommend this a your home away from home on this part of the big island.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and call early for the best rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldirish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we first arrived there was a note on the door which we first thought was a bit strange. But as soon as I called the number Mahi(the hostess) came fast and welcomed us at the Halana Lodge. We were planning on just staying 2 nights but due to private reasons we stayed for two more nights.

We hade the whole house for ourselves, used the jacuzzi, got marvellous breakfast every morning and had Mahi as our own touristinformationperson!
When we needed medical help she called the urgentcare and pointed us in the right direction for the emergency room in Hilo.
We LOVED Halana Lodge, would recommend it to anyone and really really would love to come back!
You do need a car to get to Halana Lodge, which was a plus for us who like staying near a village but not IN the village..

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Hawaiianroom, with its own bathroom :) thumbs up!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette198111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the volcano area. First thing to bear in mind is that this is located in a remote area. Very easy to get to but remote. I would recommend arriving during the daylight.

The place itself is massive. We had it all to ourselves which was very nice.
The couple who run ther B&B were very nice and helpful.

It has a hot tub but has it is fed via thermal heating it is more of a warm tub.

The decor is a bit dated and the house is a bit damp ( the local area is very damp ) It rains alot in this region.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a king size bed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnyrlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nites at this Bed and Breakfast. It should be noted that they serve a continental breakfast, not a full breakfast. We loved it here. The beauty of the fern forest is unsurpassed. They had a little hiking trail that was fun. Mahi was a very, very nice hostess. Would do anything for you. Help with info in the area---what to see and do. Very clean house; the weather was a little chilly so the house was also. We wore a sweatshirt most of the time. Beautiful back porch/patio where you could lounge in the sun. Wonderful jacuzzi, always warm and available. We enjoyed ourselves very much!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B & B and we were pleasantly surprised. The home on entry was so inviting, large common area, well appointed kitchen area, large dining area,and cozy den room complete with TV and wood burning stove. Outside covered porch with a working hot tub. Our room was very comfortable, heating blankets nice and warm, very clean with a lot of bathroom amenities provided. The owner was very knowledgeable about the area and local activities. There were three other couples we enjoyed meeting as well. The home is so spacious, you could easily find your own quiet space. Breakfast was provided, fruit,eggs, toast,pastries, and wonderful coffee!! We would come back again. . .so much warmth and character!!!

Room Tip: Room with private bathroom
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89509travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed early 2011 for three nights. At that time, the innkeepers were a couple living in a separate cabin on-site. They, Larry and Sarah, mentioned they were already retired, but 'retiring' again from maintaining this lodge for their friends and planning to move.

When we first arrived, a post-it note by the front door let us know where to head for our room. The entire large home's front door was always unlocked. The doors, while lockable, are hollow-core. We don't mind taking shoes off to enter the home in Hawaiian tradition/custom, as we do the same, but found it odd that the innkeepers kept their shoes on...when they arrived to make breakfast each morning. No worries, except the rug in the kitchen area near the dishwasher/sink was oddly very damp and wet, and ruined our socks upon initially checking out the "lodge."

While there were carpet stains and the furnishings slightly dated, it was not horrible. The bedroom itself was good just for sleeping.

Free wi-fi access and the laundry room were convenient, esp. if you were on the island for a week as we were. Great access to the Volcanoes National Park, which is the main point of most visitors' stays. We also recommend taking one day to drive over to the East side and Hilo...you can drive all of the E. side of Hawaii and makes it bearable instead of trying to do that from the Kona side.

There were many other guests staying at the same time as we were, and we never crossed paths except at breakfast, which was nice, but felt bad sometimes that making breakfast for eight plus people meant some had to wait a long time for others to get their food.

We recommend if you're dropping by Hilo or see a farmers' market to pick up some groceries or food/meals and bring it back to heat in the kitchen, etc...as there aren't many restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikinghiking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
4.3 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#15 of 32 in Volcano
265 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Volcano Fern Forest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Volcano Forest Inn
Volcano Forest Inn
#13 of 32 in Volcano
183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
5th Street Ohana
5th Street Ohana
#14 of 32 in Volcano
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halana Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halana Hale

Address: 19-4789 Amaumau Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $149 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Halana Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are taking Halana Hale off the market, but we have 3 other vacation rentals next to it that are available. We have a 3 bedroom/2 bath home, and two 2 bedroom/1 bath cottages that are recently renovated. Halana Hale is a unique and private Vacation Rental home located in Volcano, Hawaii. Situated on 60 acres of pristine tropical rain forest, that is a Certified Wildlife Habitat. This is a wonderful place to stay while exploring Hawaii and the picturesque Volcano area including the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Big Island's number one attraction. The Punaluu Black Sand Beach is just 35 minutes away where sea turtles bask in the sun. Atkatsuka Orchids offers free admission and will ship orchid plants back home for you. The Punaluu Bakery in Naalehu is the southern-most bakery in the USA and has a lovely garden and gazebos where you can enjoy a lunch from their cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Halana Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halana Hale Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing