We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Akatsuka Orchid Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Orchid Gardens Tour and Tasting
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was a fascinating tour. A very personable tour. Fun and educational. Do not miss this even if you are not an orchid enthusiast. The entire staff is wonderful. R

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    112
    29
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Wether you are a collecter or not this place is a must see”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Each time we travel from Australia to Hawaii we never miss Akatsuka's. I am fortunate enough to hold an import permit so am able to bring these beautiful orchids home in flasks and share them all around Australia. If you are on the Big Island please visit you will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank woodsta7752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A must if you like orchids”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Still a nice place to visit, even if you aren't particularly in to orchids, but if you are, it's fantastic! We paid for the tour and learned a lot about the care of orchids (and got a couple of free orchids at the end of it. My wife (the one who's really into them) also bought a bunch more. They shipped them to our home after our vacation was over and everything arrived in great condition. It is very much a family run business and everyone was very friendly and helpful. They even offer to be a resource you can contact if you have problems with your orchids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
191 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“WOW! Lots of Orchids”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I live nearby, so we pass by quite often. We stop in now and then to check out the selection. However, we ALWAYS take visitors there. The variety and quality is almost overwhelming. Always a high point of everyone's visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank capncusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogallala, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“october 2013”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Have travelled to the Big Island many times and have passed by the Akatsuka Orchid Gardens. This time we stopped and were not disappointed. What a lovely and numerous variety of beautiful orchids. The $20,000.00 dollar orchid was not in bloom, but I bought a postcard to share with family. Don't drive by....stop and enjoy the beautiful orchid display.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jandluehrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akatsuka Orchid Gardens also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Akatsuka Orchid Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing