We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Orchids, Incredible Variety”

Akatsuka Orchid Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Orchid Gardens Tour and Tasting
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful Orchids, Incredible Variety”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was just one stop on a Polynesian Adventure tour. I was amazed at the variety of orchids and the range of prices. I didn't purchase any because of the agricultural restrictions leaving Hawaii. Still, it was fun to browse. There are free orchid blossoms for the ladies (small, ordinary ground orchids). The gift shop is very nice, with the typical Hawaiian tourist merchandise. Bathrooms are very clean.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    112
    29
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice stop”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful orchids to look at and/or buy and ship home. Tour buses stop here so it is clean and bright.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Piemur617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“A paradise for orchid travelers”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you love orchids you would think you entered orchid heaven. The garden is so fragrant and the flowers are so beautiful. A lot of their orchids are approved by USDA for travel back to the mainland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmhenry1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Flowers You Can Take Home”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited the Akatsuka Orchid Gardens 3 years back and regretted we did not purchase any of the beautiful orchids we really liked. So upon our return to the Big Island, we made one of our first visits there. We recommend going early in the morning, before the tour buses arrive. It has a decent sized showroom, as well as a glass wall to look into the gren house next to it. It contains a small gift shop and have clean and large rest rooms for visitors to use.

We got there around 10am (it opens at 9), and we had the undivided attention of a staff member, who only only showed us the new and unusual orchids, including the $20,000 orchid that won top honors from the industry, but also took our pictures for us. We wanted to purchased an orchid that smells like chocolate and one with coconut aroma. She even put the two together to show us the "Mounds" scent. Unfortunately, the first orchid has already bloomed and they do not have any more stock, so we have to settle for the second one. She explained how best to transport the plant home with us, and carefully packed it so it can absorb moisture until we carried onto the flight back next week.

It is definitely work a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvHounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quick stop and lots of orchids.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you happen to drive by this greenhouse I would recommend stopping. It doesn't take very long to see everything and the orchids are beautiful. The gift shop is better than most of the ones I had been to and bought some very nice souvenirs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank schatzyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akatsuka Orchid Gardens also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Akatsuka Orchid Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing