We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely gorgeous selection, fabulous staff”

Akatsuka Orchid Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Orchid Gardens Tour and Tasting
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous selection, fabulous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My mother-in-law LOVES orchids, so my husband and I stopped in here to see if we could find her an exotic orchid she doesn't already have. Boy were we pleasantly surprised! The selection is amazing, the smell is to die for, and it's a veritable feast for the eyes. The staff is incredibly sweet and helpful. Cyndi T helped us process 3 separate orders for our family and friends, and gave us great advice about proper orchid care. We ended up choosing a beautiful Volcano Queen bud, a Hilo Sunrise specimen, and a couple of Masdevallia orchids growing on lava rocks. It's easy to get carried away here!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AFWife_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    109
    28
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent orchid grower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

If horticulture interests you even a little, you will find this a worthwhile stop. I'm not really into plants and flowers but I was glad to have visited. I learned quite a bit about orchids and was fascinated by their beauty and variety. Stop and spend an hour. You will enjoy it!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DE-Touron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A feast for the senses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I've never seen so many gorgeous flowers, and the staff are extremely helpful and full of great advice for growing orchids and other tropical plants.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank speroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsport, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you like flowers........................................................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

you'll need a 12 step program after visiting here. Their selection of orchids is amazing. You can get starts which are really inexpensive and not to hard to get home without shipping. And if the rest of the staff was as friendly and knowledgeable as the two ladies that helped us you will leave with everything you need to know about your new orchid. Or even help with your old one or your lackluster plumeria. We missed this place two years ago when we visited because we went by the day of the week they were closed. They are open daily now. The place is huge and there is more colors than any rainbow.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank DreaminofMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice place for a pit stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were surprised to see the large offering of orchids, etc and a very nice gift shop.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank hummermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akatsuka Orchid Gardens also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Akatsuka Orchid Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing