We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy mountain home, good beds, great price”
Review of Holo Holo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holo Holo Inn
Continental United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cosy mountain home, good beds, great price”
Reviewed February 10, 2008

This is a very nice large home in the mountains that is very charming and comfortable. It was a bit

cold inside and out but the owners provided three blankets for each guest. Ignore the cramped toilet

areas and get outside where the natural landscape holds incredible beauty. The very small village

does not offer many resources but the location is convenient to the volcano's and it's not a far drive

to Hilo. I fell in love instantly with the two and half year old little Japanese-Vietnamese mix girl

that played peekaboo with me non stop, drew pictures, and waived goodbye to me as I drove off. It's

very romantic and well worth the small amount of money and short out of the way drive. By the way for

bunk beds the mattresses are the best I have slept on and although they don't have wifi you can plug

in if you ask them nicely

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thepokerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
30
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, HI
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2007

This is a top-rate hostel hidden in Volcano Village, a small community just outside of the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Beds, furniture, and facilities are all new and very clean. Owners and friendly and knowledgeable about the island. Kitchen and common areas are large, well-stocked, and made for socializing. Surrounding area is totally quiet and dark--no outside street lights and most of all no noisy coqui frogs at night!

Note: their info on their website is a bit outdated. They are no longer members of AYH. Please call or email them directly for updated costs, etc.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Hilolady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

Pros:
1. Interior of building sparkling clean - including the bathroom and kitchen
2. Free Internet
3. Fridge to store food and kitchen if you would like to cook
4. Inexpensive

Cons:
1. We could hear the entire conversations of the travelers staying below us
2. Front yard and covered open shed was full of old appliances/lumber/etc (see picture)
3. Not enough parking spaces - we, along with several others, parked at lot next door, if house is sold, parking may be a problem

Overall - this is an okay option if you want an inexpensive choice. If I chose again, I would either pay more to stay at one of the cute B&Bs in Volcano Village or stay inexpensively at one of the volcano campgrounds.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelAddict1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

I stayed here in August 2006. I had my own room which was very clean and comfortable with a good shower. The hostel itself was very quiet with not much evidence of other travellers. There was a big kitchen and free internet (though rather basic).

The Volcano Village is a good base for exploring the Volcanoes National Park, even if, like me you’re travelling without a car (there is a bus service or you can hitch). It’s only a mile or so to the main park entrance and there is a side entrance that is even closer. The park has loads of great hiking and I was amazed how easy it was to escape the crowds if you walk any distance at all along the paths – it seems most people don’t like walking very far from their cars.

There are a couple of general stores and three restaurants in town. I went to the Thai restaurant three times because the food was so good.

  • Liked — Good value for money
  • Disliked — A little too quiet
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wanderlost2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2006

WE stayed at the Holo Holo In for a night in May 06.
We stayed in a private room with private bath, and it was great!
The unit was new (owner Satoshi said he'd built it almost 18 months ago), and the smell of new pine in the room was great.
The kitchen was well-stocked with the basics (sugar, awesome hot chocolate, tea and creamer). Very clean establishment, and Satoshi's travel stories are amazing!
There is a friendly cat around, so if you're allerrgic, you might want to think about it.
The only problem might be the mandatory lock-out from about 11 am- 4:30 p.m. or something.
If you're at Volcano and staying at a hostel, though, it's likely you don't want to b indoors at that time anyways.

Meera

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

We stayed 2 nights here while hiking around Kilauea, and we had an excellent experience. For students, couples, adventurers, hostelers, and explorers, this is the place to stay! Satoshi is a great host, and he has a wonderful house. Its not amazing from the outside, but inside its beautiful with high ceilings, a massive kitchen with free spices, tea, sugar etc, as well as fruits and free internet.
We were greeted by the most vocal cat I've ever met - what a personality! Very affectionate. The other travelers were great to converse with. The beds were comfortable and the house was lovely and cool, and very clean - new fixtures in the washrooms, and a nice TV room. They close the house from 11am to 4pm for cleaning, which is thorough.
My guy loved it! It was his favourite hostel, although it feels more like a nice guesthouse! We rented a private room, which meant that we had a huge room with four beds to ourselves, for only $49.50. The best value we found anywhere.
What a nice place to come home to after an exhausting day of great hikes and sights, which ended with the amazing walk out the lava at sunset. Definitely do this - its a must-see, but bring a headlamp for each person and long pants, good shoes and water: the headlamp also comes in handy for exploring further into the Thurston Lava Tube inside the park. Go through the small gate at the end of the touristy section (which is lit) and explore further into it - its much longer than you expect! Then turn your headlamps off when you've found the end of it and enjoy pure darkness. For some people, this is a neat experience - my guy had never experienced total dark before!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassywahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
866 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 31 in Volcano
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holo Holo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holo Holo Inn

Property: Holo Holo Inn
Address: PO Box 784, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0784
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Holo Holo Hotel Volcano
Holo Holo Inn Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing