We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hostel!”
Review of Holo Holo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holo Holo Inn
Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great hostel!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here for nearly three weeks with a group of 15 students. As an older member of the group, I had a private single room, while the students had shared rooms (4-6 per room). My room was excellent, with a nice ensuite bath, attractive wood paneling, two nightstands, and a small table and chair. This was pretty deluxe compared to other hostels that I have stayed in. Clean towels were provided daily and sheets weekly;soap, shampoo, and a hair dryer were also provided. There is a comfortable lounge area with several sofas, a television, and an assortment of books. The kitchen has a stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffeepot, rice cookers, and a large assortment of cookware and dishes. With a large group staying there for a relatively long time and keeping to the same schedule, the refrigerator was very crowded and there was congestion in trying to use the stove; under normal conditions, I suspect that this would not be a problem. Also, space for storage of nonrefrigerated food would have been nice. Laundry facilities are available and cost less than the laundromat in town. The owners are friendly and kind, but unobtrusive. Their two young daughters have the run of the place and are fun to be around, as is their friendly cat. I almost felt like family with them, as the little girls would wave to me when I saw them at the weekly farmers' market. Note that, as in many guesthouses and homes in Hawaii, shoes are not worn indoors here. The only caution I would give is that a rooster crows early in the morning every day. If you are traveling on a budget and want to be close to the national park, this is an excellent place to stay. I recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
30
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Holo Holo Inn. There weren't many guests the night my friend and I were there. We booked two beds in a dorm room, and there were two other women in our shared room. The shared bathrooms were really nice, and there was a nice quiet lounge room upstairs above the entry way that I loved. The kitchen was big and had a computer for emailing, etc. I had to park in the lot of the building next to the Holo Holo, but it was a ten second walk to the hostel. It just could have used better lighting (or carry a headlamp on you like I did). I would definitely return to the Holo Holo!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My cousin and I booked two nights at the Holo Holo Inn in June 2011. Our main wish was to stay close to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, and the Inn certainly WAS close (only a few minute drive). The Website described the Inn as a Hostel/Budget Inn, but we thought it was so much more than that. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by the owner and one of his lovely daughters. He gave us a quick tour of the common rooms, explained how everything worked and showed us our room. We payed a $10 deposit to have our own key, but we soon saw that it was not all necessary. The area seems very safe, and all of the guests were families, couples or excited hikers like us! We had a comfortable and convenient private room with private bathroom, and it was much more clean than some B&Bs we stayed at elsewhere on the island..! There are two general stores close by where its possible to buy food, so we were happy to be able to cook a little and take a break from restaurant food (especially since we were disappointed by all of the restaurants we tried in that area). I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bibistylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Great hostel in great location, minutes away from Volcano National Park. They have free internet and full kitchen. There are different types of rooms to accommodate everyone (ex: dorms, private rooms with or without private bathroom). The host family is very nice and welcoming and their 2 little girls are super cute.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kk_montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

A hidden gem in the Volcanoes Village. Very comfortable place cozy beds, super clean bathrooms. Some of the rooms feel like a library with the walls full of books, gives a charm to the place. They have their own laundry room and Kitchen, it had 3 rice cookers !! My wife and I loved the place. Just note that they accept only cash or cheque. The owner and his wife are very nice and helpful. The lockout time of 11 to 4 should not be a concern if you plan to spend the day in the national park or doing daytime activities. We would highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sautya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We spent 3 nights over there, and we really liked this place.

It's not an hotel, so don't expect high-standard services - but hosts are really kind. We went there for Thanksgiving dinner and they just invited all their guests to share this meal with them, their family and friends. Really nice experience, and so kind from them!

Otherwise, this hostel is located 2 min drive from the Volcano National Park and that's really nice.
There is a free internet in the kitchen.

We had private room with private bath and, for our personal comfort, we appreciate that. This room looked like quite recent and very clean.

Only thing : as the hosts live there, they asked their guests to live the house between 11 am and 4 PM...but don't worry : there is so much things to see in the park and other areas, that you'll be always out!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pere_noar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

One of the BEST hostels I've ever stayed in! Nice staff - don't be put off if they don't reply your e-mail, they're really nice, just call, their English is a bit poor, so don't speak too fast! (They're a wonderful Japanese family) Once you get there, it's shoes off, Japanese style. So it's clean on the inside, no matter how muddy your shoes are. And unless you've just been sitting in your car all day, they will be! Beds are nice, showers are wonderfully clean and the kitchen is a dream: Nothing is missing. It's in the middle of the residential area of Volcano, and you can hear the rain fall at night in the canopy of trees... Wonderful sleep!!!
And don't miss the Kilauea Caldera at night! It's just 10 min. driving away!
And free internet is also available! GREAT!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holo Holo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holo Holo Inn

Property: Holo Holo Inn
Address: PO Box 784, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0784
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Holo Holo Hotel Volcano
Holo Holo Inn Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing